Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 April 2009
I only received this yesterday and already I love it.
Inside are all sorts of mixed media techniques for paints that you can adapt according to which materials you use and what you like.
For those who like written instructions they are clear, simple and easy to follow. The visuals show a step by step process that makes it very obvious what to do.
You could reproduce every project in the book exactly as you see it, or you could use the techniques to do something entirely different.
Creative books lately seem to fall into 2 catergories; wishy washy 'dealing with not actually being creative but wanting to be' for beginners, and 'high-brow arty books that insist you have to do everything by the rules' for art students.
This is neither. It's all good cold hard facts about how things work and what you can do with them to mix them up and create original pieces of artowrk. It's a real mish-mash of getting your hands dirty and using simple products in a new way.
11 Comment| 125 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2010
This book really is a workshop! Ann Baldwin explains in great detail how to produce the effects she shows in her own works. She explains about mediums and glues, about composing, how to create different textures, layering paint and decoupage, encaustics (which I haven't tried yet!), and many more fascinating explanations. I think this book covers just about everything one might want to learn about mixed media and I find it truly inspirational. Highly recommendable.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2010
[ASIN:1592534562 Creative Paint Workshop for Mixed-Media Artists: Experimental Techniques for Composition, Layering, Texture, Imagery, and Encaustic]]

This book is very detailed and nicely presented. Lots of ideas for collages and useful for those new to the craft. Very impressed with the swift delivery too.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2010
Very good photos, very easy to read and to consult, accurate tips and explanations.Most interesting for different kinds of artists.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2010
This book is inspiring! Clear photographs, and plenty of information. Shows you an exciting way to use acrylic paints in mixed media artwork.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2009
This is the best workshop book I have bought, Ann Baldwin dosnt hold back and gives her all. Whilst I do not work the same it has been very useful.
This is the first practical book I havent just read and then resold, this ones for keeps for future reference.
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2009
I only occassionaly do mix-media and this book certainly makes you want to do more.Easy to follow stages with good clear pictures. anyone who wishes to do mix-media can certainly do with this book. highly recomended for starter or more advanced.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2009
I have been working in mixed media for a while but it is always good to get extra inspiration and learn new techniques from someone who has the time to experiment! I thoroughly recommend this book and I'm sure it will be well used in my studio.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2010
Been stuck in a creative black hole for ages. Got this book for Xmas. Bingo! It seemed to unlock a flood of ideas and with its clear description of techniques and suggestions, I've been able to create some very pleasing (to me) work.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
Having read so many reviews of this book saying how brilliant it was I couldn't wait to get my hands on a copy. I am, however, quite disappointed by it.
I was expecting an encyclopedia of techniques, instead its mostly a showcase of the authors artwork, which to be honest is all very samey.

This book may be okay for absolute beginners or for kids but for artists it has no use.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)