Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 July 2013
This is a must for any Elvis fan. Jerry takes you back to when it all began. He introduces you to Elvis the man, you learn about his humour, moods ,loves, and insecurities and not forgetting his generosity and the love he had for his fellow man/woman.. You read how humble this man could be I loved the way Jerry gives you his thoughts on events and his honesty. He didn't gloss over any imperfections but also doesn't dwell on them. With this book you see the full picture, the man as a whole. You can feel the love Jerry had and still has for Elvis as a friend and you feel the lose he is still feeling. This is a book will you read again and again and find things in it you read but didn't pick up the first time.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2017
Missing from my collection so bought at good price and thoroughly enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
Immaculate service and quality pruct🤙😃
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
Great, Fab one of the best books out there...about EP
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Fabulous! Couldn't put book down and was disappointed when it ended! True friendship !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
did,nt want to put the book down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2016
Still in the middle of reading this book, but so far a brilliant read and a great insight into Jerry Schillings life and how he met with Elvis and their relationship over the years. I'm really enjoying this book. I know I'll be reading this book again. Get the book people, you won't be disappointed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
I really enjoyed this book it was a easy read with some very touching memories of a man who really loved Elvis as a true friend. From what he said I think Elvis had a lot of love for Jerry. I feel I know more about Elvis the very human being. We have all heard some unpleasant things about Elvis I the past but reading this book I could understand the frustrations of a man with such incredible talent being thwarted in his desire to do more challenging opportunities knowing that he tried several times to put a European tour together and the colonel put a stop to it. Also his great disappointment at not playing opposite Barbara Streisand in A star is borne also because of the colonel must have been a crushing blow for Elvis. It didn't become clear just why the colonel didn't want Elvis going abroad as he wouldn't have been able to accompany his as he was an illegal in the USA. He kept that quiet until the court case about all the money he had taken in the years he was Elvis' manager and only made it known so he couldn't be charged with anything as a man of no nationality . To me that shows what a deceitful man he was. That knowledge came from reading another book. He made some good business deals but always to his greater financial benefit. I also think people forget elvis came from very humble beginnings and was used to deferring to is elders add to that the fact that Elvis was never interested in the money side of things and it is easy to see why he was manipulated. His generosity is legendary but I never realised how much he gave to good causes. His thirst for spiritual knowledge tells me he was a man of great depth and understanding. I could wish that there were men around Elvis who could have fought his corner with his desire for more challenging and worthwhile projects to stretch Elvis' incredible talent. This book is a ver human look at the man so universally loved and admired by his millions of fans and as such a must read for them but also for people who didn't really understand the legend that was Elvis Aaron Presley. So thank you Jerry for a wonderful, compassionate and loving look into the life of the greatest entertainer who ever lived RIP Elvis we fan will always love and miss you
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2007
Nothing new but ok for a light read. The book is written from a friends perception of how he remembers past history, no nastiness or bitterness, enjoyable reading.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2009
Jerry Schilling can easily be considered one of Presley's most loyal and trusted friends.

Before meeting Elvis, Jerry was like any other obsessed fan. His dreams were exceeded when he met and was later hired by Presley. The book tells the whole story from Jerry's earliest recollection of first hearing of Elvis Presley through to working and partying with him, almost to the end. You will learn about the good times as well as the frustrations. Jerry was there and witnessed it all.

If you are already well read on Elvis, much of the stories told in this book will sound familiar or even repetitively boring. To the uninitiated or the new fan, Jerry's book is a revelation without the sensationalism found in other "friends' books.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)