Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 13 January 2007
This isn't a book for the easily offended! The story starts simply enough, Diablo Cody (what a fantastic name!!) wants a bit of adventure in her life. She strips at an amateur night at a local strip club and loves the experience so much that she continues to strip for a further year.

Diablo strips in a variety of clubs and inroduces the reader to a wonderful cast of characters along the way. In some of the later chapters she describes some of the men she meets at a place called Sex World. It was an eye opener! although I have to confess that one man's particular fetish made me feel pretty unwell!

The tone of the book is great. She has a wonderful sense of humour and I hope that she'll continue writing.

Incidentally...if you like this book you could also try 'Strip City' by Lily Burana.

Enjoy.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
Interesting Book about a a girl's experience in the seedy side of life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 January 2007
This isn't a book for the easily offended! The story starts simply enough, Diablo Cody (what a fantastic name!!) wants a bit of adventure in her life. She strips at an amateur night at a local strip club and loves the experience so much that she continues to strip for a further year.

Diablo strips in a variety of clubs and inroduces the reader to a wonderful cast of characters along the way. In some of the later chapters she describes some of the men she meets at a place called Sex World. It was an eye opener! although I have to confess that one man's particular fetish made me feel pretty unwell!

The tone of the book is great. She has a wonderful sense of humour and I hope that she'll continue writing.

Incidentally...if you like this book you could also try 'Strip City' by Lily Burana.

Enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2016
Got to this book rather late, I think because of Juno I was expecting holywood twee but this is a great memoirs to read in one go. I fell in love with Diablo , she is not afraid to describe the more sordid and sickly moments . There are a lot of bad books out there about working in sex industry , this isn't one of them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2012
It could so easily have been a quick way of making a buck, but it shows the author has the skills necessary to present the subject matter in a well written and offbeat way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2009
Easy to read and witty book about a girl who chooses to be a stripper.
Diablo Cody is extremely honest and humourous making this book one which you can't put down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2008
The script of film Juno is written by the same author Diablo Cody. I like the movie so much that I decided to find out more about the writer and bought this book.

It is a disappointment. To summarise her story- she is an average secretary leading a repetitive and unexciting life. Then she met her boyfriend through internet. Her boyfriend is surprisingly tolerating. She decided to adventure on a local stripping show. Then more stripping on another classier stripping venue. Her insights and thoughts and interesting episode of meeting workers in the stripping venues.

She reveals some of the hardship of stripper, and clear some of general misunderstanding. Yet, in all, unless you buy into the formula of 'sex sells', it lacks substances to surprise and to delight, let alone inspire us.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2016
Good condition and smells like old books should!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)