Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

All Marketers Are Liars is one of Seth Godin's better marketing books. If you have a choice between reading Purple Cow and All Marketers Are Liars, opt for this one.

The book is based on the observation that customers want to align with offerings and services that reinforce their positive self-images. I'm sure that idea isn't new to you. Otherwise, why would someone pay ten times as much for an item of frequently poor quality that has five cents worth of a brand image stitched into its front?

The book builds from these premises:

1. Don't waste your time trying to educate people about what their worldview should be or what your offerings are. Instead just slip into their preconceptions in a comfortable, authentic way.

2. You won't be noticed unless you fit into their worldview and seem to offer something new that they value.

3. An effective, authentic story can help you make a better and more lasting first impression.

4. Most of the future "experience" of your story will be assumed by customers who want to believe that you are what you say you are.

The book takes a little long to make those points. I found myself wishing this were a tightly edited article rather than a meandering book.

Part of Godin's "promise" to his fans is that he will "shake things up." As a result, the title is deliberately misleading to make people pick the book up . . . because ever customer has been lied to my a marketer or sales person. There's nothing new there. His "new" point for those who haven't studied marketing is that customers like a little sizzle with their steak.

If you know about the emotional value of a brand, this book is a waste of your time. If you think that people only care about product and service features, you need this book.

If you really want to learn about storytelling, I suggest you become acquainted with Stephen Denning's fine books on the subject. If you want to develop a sound foundation in marketing, see Phil Kotler's books.

If you want to be entertained without learning too much, stick with Mr. Godin.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2005
If you've read any of Seth Godins books you've probably got a good take on "new marketing". If you haven't you need to get up to speed. Either way this book is a must read.
Building on the themes of Purple Cow and his previous writing, this "Liars" further defines why a new approach to marketing is absolutely necessary and describes what that new approach might be.
To quote from the book;
"There are only two things that separate success from failure in most organisations today:
1. Invent stuff worth talking about
2. Tell Stories about what you've invented"
As you'd expect from a book that celebrates storytelling, its a good read. The book is full of great examples to support his views and lots of very quotable stories and anecdotes.
If you're in business I think you need to read this. And I think you'll enjoy it.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
Ok so they didnt really lie, they just told the truth in a very selective fashion.Why? Because they have to!

Im a bit of a marketing neewbie but i have to say that I consider this one of the most eye opening books iv ever read.
Godin explains how the same fundamental tactics are employed time and time again by advertisers, politicians, newspapers, religious establishments etc to influence the average joe on the street.

Godins writing style is casual and jargon free and he seems to make it his mission to help people think for themselves and not become mindless sheep. Its the kind of book you will read in just a few hours, but you'll remember its lesson forever.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2005
This is a must read book for anyone trying to make themselves heard in a busy marketplace.
This book builds on Godin's earlier books and, if you haven't already read any, I would recommend starting with Purple Cow (and possibly Free Prize Inside) before this one.
The book drives home the point that you first need to have a truly remarkable product that appeals to a narrowly defined group of early adopters who are ready to "lie" to themselves (ie convince themselves) that your offering is outstanding in some way. They will then spread the word for you in a way that you simply could not do as a marketer (because no-one would believe you) until your product or service becomes mainstream.
Seth uses some excellent examples but you will quickly come up with your own ideas of products and services that have followed exactly this path.
Seth Godin also takes his own advice in the way he packages and propagates his remarkable ideas (so don't be put off by the quirky title).
Buy these books now, before they become mainstream!
Phil Gott
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
He says in the book that he really had a ghostwriter named Mo Samuels write this book around a 3 page outline.

Then he says this is just a trick played to illustrate a worldview.

I am inclined to believe that the book was based off of a 3 page outline and that he is using the very methods he describes in the book to market the book as more fleshed out than it really is. He even dedicates the book to someone named Mo.

There were a few good points and anecdotes in the book. I put exactly two paragraphs from the book into my personal notes. It about all the value that I needed to take from this book. Everything else is either common sense, possibly a fake anecdote, or pure filler.

Someone named Donald? Wrote a review that sums up 5 or so points that the book laid out. You can read that review and save your time instead of reading the whole book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
Despite it was published almost 10 years ago, despite all the changes we faced this last decade, the thoughts and concepts Seth talks about are pretty up to date. I just loved to read about the "worldview" concept and the need to "frame" the comunication to that if you want to succeed.
I love books like this one: doesn't teach how to do it in detail, but makes you think how you can do it better using something new that you haven't thought about before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2007
I would have scored this as 4.5 if it was possible. It only failed to get top marks from me because there was a bit of repetition/reinforcement of the central themes. Really well written. An easy going style getting across some points that in other hands would have been overly complicated (such as Peter Fisks Marketing Genius). Anyone who is wondering why their marketing campaigns are not working should read this book. Specifying your benefits is not good enough anymore - no one believes you. You have to wrap it up in a good story that resonates with your target audience.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2007
This book really hits the nail on the head, revealing why much marketing just doesn't work any more, and most importantly explaining why. We not only need a compelling story that connects with our target audience, it needs to be an authentic story embodied throughout our organisation. Extremely well written and a pleasure to read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2012
A good book to read if you're interested or concerned by marketing, sales or entrepreneurship. The idea described is very simple: can be understood by anyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2010
This is yet another book by Seth Godin, who claims that traditional advertising in magazines, mailings, radio and television commercials is dead. He's probably correct at that. His suggestions to replace advertising by giving discounts, by innovation, by offering free calls to customer service etc. etc. are just plainly naive. Godin has been selling the same message in at least five books under differing titles for the last 10 years. Save your money.
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)