Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2017
Big print, punchy and obvious themes to remind you to get back to basics
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2016
Truly inspiring!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2015
A great read - informative, interesting and concise for quick reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
WOWOWOWOW this guy tears the ad world a new one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
All Marketers Are Liars is one of Seth Godin's better marketing books. If you have a choice between reading Purple Cow and All Marketers Are Liars, opt for this one.

The book is based on the observation that customers want to align with offerings and services that reinforce their positive self-images. I'm sure that idea isn't new to you. Otherwise, why would someone pay ten times as much for an item of frequently poor quality that has five cents worth of a brand image stitched into its front?

The book builds from these premises:

1. Don't waste your time trying to educate people about what their worldview should be or what your offerings are. Instead just slip into their preconceptions in a comfortable, authentic way.

2. You won't be noticed unless you fit into their worldview and seem to offer something new that they value.

3. An effective, authentic story can help you make a better and more lasting first impression.

4. Most of the future "experience" of your story will be assumed by customers who want to believe that you are what you say you are.

The book takes a little long to make those points. I found myself wishing this were a tightly edited article rather than a meandering book.

Part of Godin's "promise" to his fans is that he will "shake things up." As a result, the title is deliberately misleading to make people pick the book up . . . because ever customer has been lied to my a marketer or sales person. There's nothing new there. His "new" point for those who haven't studied marketing is that customers like a little sizzle with their steak.

If you know about the emotional value of a brand, this book is a waste of your time. If you think that people only care about product and service features, you need this book.

If you really want to learn about storytelling, I suggest you become acquainted with Stephen Denning's fine books on the subject. If you want to develop a sound foundation in marketing, see Phil Kotler's books.

If you want to be entertained without learning too much, stick with Mr. Godin.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
Ok so they didnt really lie, they just told the truth in a very selective fashion.Why? Because they have to!

Im a bit of a marketing neewbie but i have to say that I consider this one of the most eye opening books iv ever read.
Godin explains how the same fundamental tactics are employed time and time again by advertisers, politicians, newspapers, religious establishments etc to influence the average joe on the street.

Godins writing style is casual and jargon free and he seems to make it his mission to help people think for themselves and not become mindless sheep. Its the kind of book you will read in just a few hours, but you'll remember its lesson forever.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2016
The font is good, not too small, very readable. Haven't read it yet to judge the content.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2005
If you've read any of Seth Godins books you've probably got a good take on "new marketing". If you haven't you need to get up to speed. Either way this book is a must read.
Building on the themes of Purple Cow and his previous writing, this "Liars" further defines why a new approach to marketing is absolutely necessary and describes what that new approach might be.
To quote from the book;
"There are only two things that separate success from failure in most organisations today:
1. Invent stuff worth talking about
2. Tell Stories about what you've invented"
As you'd expect from a book that celebrates storytelling, its a good read. The book is full of great examples to support his views and lots of very quotable stories and anecdotes.
If you're in business I think you need to read this. And I think you'll enjoy it.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2009
This is one of Seth Godin's easier reads - but is no less valuable for that. On the contrary, there is lots of though provoking material between the covers. I actually recommend this book to my staff as required reading, and I get good reports back from them. I think the thesis is an interesting one - It's one of those books where you end up in a place where you feel you already knew some of that intuitively, but never really took time out to think it through. I think it's well worth taking the time to both read this book and think through the implications!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2012
A good book to read if you're interested or concerned by marketing, sales or entrepreneurship. The idea described is very simple: can be understood by anyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)