Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 October 2016
This book finally came good in the end, though there were some ups and downs whilst reading it which was largely due to the sheer volume of quotes of other authors that peppered the book; mostly of which I found disruptive to the flow of meaning that the author was attempting to impart. Though once I chose to breeze past these interspersions I could hear more fully what Stephen Harrod had to say.

& what he has to say is somewhat refreshing and insightful that leads you into another way of seeing things; not through the lens of reason but through opening into and reconnecting to the world around us through the heart - a metaphor for reclaiming our underused intuitive capabilities that have been in the shadows of reason since Descartes and the enlightenment age.

When we choose to perceive the natural world around us through the heart what we find is a world full of hidden meaning of higher purpose and potential of which can move us forward in our own evolution and healing. By aligning ourselves with the truth inherent in nature we re-attune ourselves and our organ systems to function in a healthy and organic way.

For anyone that's a frequent visitor to the mountains will find one of his earlier descriptions of a journey to the high alpine region of Colorado mesmerising, putting into words what I could only dream of describing so wonderfully; capturing the voice of nature itself. The book alone is worth reading just for this one paragraph.

I also found myself quite often practicing some of the techniques used to disengage from our overused and limiting analytical mode of perception into a more heart based or direct sensory perception of the experience. A practice that can take a life time to retrain ourselves with - this lost mode of cognition and understanding.

All in all an enlightening and enjoyable read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2017
Enjoying this... Read The Lost Language of Plants. Both are enlightening.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
A beautiful book. Wise, full of humility and extremely practical way to engage with Nature.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
This has to honestly be one of the most exciting and stimulating books I have ever read. I love plants and have a very basic knowledge of our relationship with them but Stephen's book has opened so many doors in my mind. What a facinating book and author who obviously writes with a deep empathy and understanding of not only the nature of plants but also our conscious relationship to the universe. The author has a way of unlocking the heart and mind to new ideas and ways of thinking and feeling, bypassing old ingrained belief systems. This is a wonderful book, a real gem, the sort of book that has so much depth, its going to be a joy to reread as it's bursting like a ripe pod with so many seeds of fresh insight that a whole new beautiful garden starts to germinate and flower in your soul.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2010
This book is extraordinary. It is a magical mix of science, poetry and practical exercises. The first part is quite science heavy, but how else can you satisfy the left brain. The second half tells you how you can communicate with nature using you heart. This lost art should be taught in schools. Read the book and try the exercises.
44 Comments| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2007
this is an incredibly full book about a lost art - direct communication with nature.

in section one buhner looks at the scientific documentation of the neural activity of the heart and the non-linear aspects of nature. in section two he takes a more poetic and practical approach to opening your perception of nature using the heart.

an incredibly liberating book - the exercises are wonderful and can have extraordinary effects in reopening you to the world we live in.

a rich, dense experience of a book written from lived experience that repays a long slow relationship with it.

highly recommended
33 Comments| 77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2009
An incredible book, really revolutionary, Stephen Harrod Buhner give back to the heart his role of primary brain and sensory organ of perception, and shows clearly how plants are intelligent and conscious beings
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
This book is probably the best explanation of how we function, how we are 'wired' and our place in the fabric of life that i have ever read. It is enjoyable, inspiring and illuminating and i will, no doubt, read it again and again. An awesome read - enjoy!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2011
That is, this book is informative about certain things we take for granted, the heart as a pump, for example. In this book Bruhner uses research from the Steiner Institute and others that contradicts the long held assertion and belief that the heart is a pump. I won't spoil it by indulging the evidence offered in this book to refute this claim but along with this there are other jewels of wisdom that make us reassess what we believe about ourselves and life around us.

Well worth reading.
22 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2016
Fantastically profound book - full of fascinating information about the heart
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)