Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
14
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 11 October 2017
Usual Phryne approach to life and beautifully read, what more can one say. Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
Really enjoying Kerry Greenwood's series of Miss Fisher Mysteries. Phrynne is addictive reading and I'm looking forward to the next one. If you've never tried this series of books I highly recommend them. Hard to put down and great narrative.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 28 February 2012
A young man is found dead in a bookshop. Jack Robinson is convinced the bookshop owner, Miss Lee, did the deed and arrests her. Phryne Fisher is hired by Mr Abrahams, the man who owns the property in which the bookshop is situated, to find the murderer as he does not believe Miss Lee did it and fears an Anti-Semitic attack because the victim is Jewish. Phryne does not believe that Miss Lee did the deed either.

This is an intriguing murder mystery with an exciting and dangerous climax. It involves alchemy and chemistry and strange parchments in foreign languages not to speak of a new lover for Phryne and some new friends. I thought the murder involved an ingenious and unusual method and the plot had me guessing almost to the last few pages. The book is well written with many touches of humour and some brilliant descriptions of Melbourne life in the 1920s.

If you like your crime novels with interesting characters and intriguing plots then give this series a try. They can be read in any order but it helps if you start with the first one Cocaine Blues (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) as you can then follow the development of and the additions to the series characters.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 7 November 2013
A young man is found dead in a bookshop. Jack Robinson is convinced the bookshop owner, Miss Lee, did the deed and arrests her. Phryne Fisher is hired by Mr Abrahams, the man who owns the property in which the bookshop is situated, to find the murderer as he does not believe Miss Lee did it and fears an Anti-Semitic attack because the victim is Jewish. Phryne does not believe that Miss Lee did the deed either.

This is an intriguing murder mystery with an exciting and dangerous climax. It involves alchemy and chemistry and strange parchments in foreign languages not to speak of a new lover for Phryne and some new friends. I thought the murder involved an ingenious and unusual method and the plot had me guessing almost to the last few pages. The book is well written with many touches of humour and some brilliant descriptions of Melbourne life in the 1920s.

If you like your crime novels with interesting characters and intriguing plots then give this series a try. They can be read in any order but it helps if you start with the first one Cocaine Blues (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) as you can then follow the development of and the additions to the series characters.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 29 August 2012
Raisins and Almonds is the ninth novel in the popular Phryne Fisher series by Kerry Greenwood. With her lover Lin Chung in Shanghai, Phryne is enjoying the attentions of a beautiful Jewish boy, Simon Abrahams. But soon, his father summons her, not to reproach, but to hire her to solve a murder. Benjamin Abrahams' tenant, Miss Sylvia Lee, has been arrested for murder when a young Jew from Salonika dies of strychnine poisoning in her Eastern Market bookshop. Everyone who knows Miss Lee is convinced she is innocent, but DI Jack Robinson has no other suspect, so Phryne has to find the murderer if Miss Lee is to go free. Plenty of curious clues (a cut finger, missing rat poison, some unsaleable books, old parchment drawings with unknown symbols, mystery customers, poisoned birds) soon have Phryne on the trail of the murderer. As usual, she has the capable assistance of Bert and Cec, but this time Dot takes on a much bigger detection role than usual, and even Phryne's adopted daughters, Ruth and Jane, are enlisted to gather information. The Jewish aspect means lots of references to, and interesting information about, the Torah, Kosher food, Rabbis and Zionist politics, but alchemy and the Kabala are also touched on. There are quite a lot of Yiddish words, so a handy Yiddish glossary appears at the end. An interesting plot with a few red herrings, but, as usual, Phryne manages to tie up all the loose ends with style and panache. Another Greenwood winner.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2009
First Sentence: The ranked books exhaled leather and dust, a comforting scent.

Private investigator, the Honorable Phryne Fisher, is hired by Benjamin Abrahams, a respected member of Melbourne's Jewish community. Miss Sylvia Lee is comfortable with her life as a single woman and owner of a bookstore. A man died suddenly in her shop, Sylvia has been arrested for murder and Mr. Benjamin, with his lovely son Simon, wants Phryne's help proving Sylvia innocent.

I want to be Phryne. She is smart, stylish, beautiful, sensual, independent, cleaver, caring and doesn't forget her roots of poverty even though she is now wealthy. Her life now includes a great cast of supporting characters; both those introduced in past books--I love that Dot, Phryne's maid, is coming into her own--and now Molly, the puppy. All the characters are wonderful, realistic, appropriate to the time and adding dimension to the story.

Greenwood creates a wonderful sense of, not only time and place, but social history. Here, we have the Jewish residents, information on alchemy, John Dee, the Torah and the Holy Kabala as well as Zionism and the desire for a Jewish homeland. Greenwood does an excellent job of combining the information into the story without it ever taking you out of the story.

I always enjoy Greenwood use of dialogue. Being set in 1920s Australia, I enjoyed figuring out the meaning of some idioms with which I was not previously familiar, such as "Phryne beguiled the rest of the afternoon."

The mystery itself is well done solved by legwork, logic and a wonderful bit of clever thinking on Phryne's part at the end. I was half right in figuring it out but love that I was only half right. This was another very good entry into a series I shall continue to enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
I generally enjoy Kerry Greenwood's books and this was still a gripping read, but I felt that the author was trying to air her acquired knowledge to the disadvantage of the plot. I like authors who do their research properly (and many of them appear not to)but this book tended to drift too much into academic pursuit. Still it gets three atars and will not deter me from reading more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
I listened to this in the car. It was well read and enjoyable. The series is good value and easy listening.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
I just like all Kerry Greenwood Fisher mysteries. They are well researched and well written and bring to life a part of the Roaring Twenties on the other side of the world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
I have got really hooked on the Phryne Fisher series and this is well up to standard. A compelling backdrop, interesting and well-written characters and a tense finale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here