Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
14
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£21.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 July 2008
In his truly inimitable and engaging style, Thomas presents us with an introduction and then a summary of twenty two of Japans greatest samurai, there thoughts, philosophies and life stories.

Covering a period of samurai from 1349 to 1865, we get right into the mind, spirit and true nature of what it was like to live their dangerous lives and how they ingeniously schemed to work out ways to survive and win battles with their enemies. There was rarely any quarter given in these harsh and brutal times.

It wasn't all bravery, wit and courage. These Japanese "knights" had to work out life saving strategies and tactics that would always win the day. If they survived the battle that they had lost, then they would probably have to up their lives to their lord and do the honourable thing by committing suicide to save face.

Beautifully & interestingly written by an expert in his field, you would expect nothing less from Thomas.

With over 600 years of experience all in one book, this has to be one of the best reference books for those seeking to understand what "The Way of the Warrior" is all about.
review image review image
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
there is a lot to learn from this warriors . Associated whet humor,fearlessness calm, decisive action .strategic thinking, and
moral .
Personal discipline and character development..
It work's fore me.
Have a good time whet the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2009
This is a very intersting book, full of essays on philosophy, politics, war strategy and social issues by various samurai spanning a few hundred years. Some of them surely were mental, while others appear to have been very moral and just. To be honest this book will only be of interst to you if you are in to Japanese history and culture. If you're looking for a manual on martial arts, as some I know who got this did, you'll be most disapointed. I loved it though.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2011
A superlative collection of writings from some of the most outstanding figures of early Japanese society - warlords, samurai warriors and monks. This book can be viewed as a manual on honourable conduct, with such subjects as justice, truth, courage, civility and filial piety being discussed and promoted. To be a true warrior and knight meant combining martial skill with culture (pen and sword together), to protect the weak and innocent, respect the elderly and do the right thing - all virtues equally extolled by the ancient Celts and medieval chivalry and much needed in today's society.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2011
A brilliant book that explains bushido, ways of war, politics, philosophy,science, moral and psychological development, ethics, training and more taken from writings from people who lived in the fifteenth to nineteenth century. I was totally enthralled by it and have learnt some new life lessons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
An insightful collection on Samurai thinking.

Anyone who read The Book of Five Rings, who is interested in mental strategy, should also read this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
I found this book by accident in a way. I thought i was buying a "how to" guide but upon reading it is a very good and informative book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2015
Great Book, one again bought as used but in prestine condition, a great read for anyone who likes this culture
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
I Really love it! it can't be better. It is good quality and I am sure many people will like it too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2016
a truly wonderful book, deep insights into Zen mind in places yet so simple.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)