Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 5 July 2011
A fascinating character who does not pull his punches regarding his own failings and/or attributes.

Sadly he appears to be a man who has not reached his potential otherwise why would he waste his talent on such banal shows as Horrid Histories.

This kid is not amused! JS
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2015
Lack humility rather rejoicing in his lifestyle
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2015
Was a present for my son.He enjoyed reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2014
A very interesting read again from Stephen Fry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2011
A mildly entertaining read but not as good as 'Moab is my Washpot'. It's all a bit self-obsessive and self-pitying and self-serving and several other adjectives starting with 'self'. I've always had a lot of time for Fry, but lately he has become a bit of a one-dimensional self-parody (which shouldn't really be possible!).

So, the book isn't up to much. I wouldn't have even reviewed it if it were not for the price fixing issue. But that IS worth commenting on.

The price of the Kindle version is simply a rip off. Worse, it is completely arbitrary. How did the publishers come up with this price of £13? It is apropos of nothing at all. It is a made-up figure born of greed and cynicism. Even when you allow for VAT there is something seriously wrong here: the profit margin on the Kindle book is obscene. How is the cost of hosting and delivering a 3Mb file more than the cost of producing, shipping, storing and handling of 1kg of cardboard and paper?

I'll be boycotting all such price-fixed Kindle books from now on. I'll source them all elsewhere. Cynicism can work both ways.
88 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
A gift
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2011
I was SO looking forward to this read. Was a little disappointed as I found that it lacked more of an insight into Stephen's brilliant and complex nature. However, he has given the book the title of Chronicles rather than autobio.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
A wee bit long winded but still enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2015
couldnt get in to it sure thats just me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2015
Bought for gift for friend with Bi Polar
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)