Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars
34
3.1 out of 5 stars
Wild and Wonderful Fleece Animals: 20 Projects with Full-Size Patterns
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 February 2012
I havent tried the patterns yet, they look fine - BUT- saying that full size patterns are included is deceptive. The implication being that one just pulls the pattern sheets out.
I saw nowhere that said they were on a CD and one needed a computer to download them.
There are difficulties even then, the largest paper I have is A4 One can use this but has to join parts of pattern together.
I think this should all be made clear in the advert

I have now made nearly all the animals in this book, and they are super, especially the walrus, I cant bear to part with him.. and fleece is delightful to handle. I cant recommend this book highly enough. Do buy it if you are "in to" soft toy making, you wont be dissappointed.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
The book in itself is great, with some adorable animals to make and easy to follow instructions. The problem, in my opinion, comes with the patterns - or the finding of them. As the CD with patterns is no longer supplied with the book, the patterns can be accessed online instead. Now, if you are like me and tend to skip or fast-read introductory pages, you may very well miss the URL for these patterns in the rush to look at the animals themselves. So, to make things easier, I can tell you that it is on page 7, near the bottom. Maybe the publishers, if this is reprinted, could at least make the web address stand out a little from the rest of the text by putting it in bold or italics. I hope this helps some other lost souls out there!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2011
I got this book just over a year ago and have now made Peter Panda, Petunia Pig, Pablo Polar Bear, Olivia Octopus, Polly Penguin and Tyrone Tiger (four times). Each person they have been made for has fallen in love with them and I have loved making them. The patterns are good quality and actual size - quite a novelty! Also the instructions are very easily followed. For anyone who loves making soft toys this book is truly great.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
Although the book promises full size patterns these are not available either on disc or on-line despite contacting Amazon locate the they admitted that even they could not find any means of locating the advertised patterns, it therefore is a most expensive catalogue. and in no way meets Amazon's description, this book should be removed from sale,
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2012
The designs of the 20 stuffed animals in this book are very cute, and will undoubtedly be a success with any recipient. However, in my opinion the book suffers from a few practical problems. As has been mentioned in another review, the patterns are on a CD and some messing about with printer settings, and/or sticky tape are needed to get the proper pattern pieces. The patterns are hand drawn, which means they are not as accurate as is sometimes necessary - such as when you are sewing a black-and-white panda where any difference between the pattern pieces will clearly show up. The illustrations with the instructions are also hand drawn, which in most cases is no problem, though occassionally it's hard to see which way to sew one pattern piece to another. If you've got some experience in sewing, this is no problem, but the book seems particularly aimed at beginners so that's rather annoying. If you want to sew the animals from a different fabric then fleece, there is no grain line in the pattern pieces. And finally, some of the designs look different from the photographs. Peter Panda, for instance, has quite a long neck when you follow the pattern, whereas the head seems to be directly on top of the black upper body in the photograph.
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2016
Has a link to full size patterns to print off.
the great thing is you don't have to stick to fleece I've made many of them as gifts for the little ones! (the cat is not so good).

My personal favourite is the Octopus!
The rabbit is great for Easter and a really quick make.
Also the duck is another good one, quick make again.
review image review image review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
the book looks wonderful but only shows you how to put the patterns together. the patterns are supposed to be on an included cd. as the book comes with no cd you therefore have no patterns so cannot make anything in the book.
33 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
love it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
.Nice book with beautiful pictures of fleece animals but patterns only available on CD-Rom which CD-Rom has not been included
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
The animals look gorgeous but I bought this mainly because it said full size patterns included. The patterns are available through a download only but need to be printed on 11" x 17" paper so if you only have a domestic printer, up to A4 this is very fiddly !! I had struggled with previous books, enlarging dinosaur patterns with considerable time, paper and ink to get the right sizes and bought this book expecting to have full sized patterns. Beware!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse