Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Alice Cooper Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 December 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2005
I followed this course prior to the combination of the manual, but it is even better value and the information is easy to follow and invaluable
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2007
I'm CCNA certified and now working towards my CCNP. I started learning CCNA a while ago and I bought this book (CCNA 1 & 2) along with the CCNA 3 & 4 companions. Basically if you want to pass the 640-801 exam you need these books. Read them cover to cover! They are very well presented, and the clarity is fantastic. It gives you the material you need without you thinking 'oh my god this information is too much!!' Buy these books, they're worth their weight in gold. The only thing is that although these books teach you all you need to know, i.e. everything in the exam is covered in these books, you need to do practise test. There are many good sites on the internet that help, and believe me there are some fantastic ones!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2005
Before I bought this book, I was a bit worried about the reviews of previous editions, which apparently didn't follow the cisco online curricullum very closely.
So I studied the first few chapters page by page with the online version, and didn't find any omissions - now I hardly bother looking at the online version!
It pretty much has everything you find online and is a brilliant resource to study from. It does come with a companion cd that has interactive media on it, but to be honest I didn't use it - I did those online.
The companion cd also has a practise final, but that was useless because it covered semesters 1+2 together and though I tried to change the option, once the test started it reverted back to questions from both semesters.
Other than that, if you use it to study for individual module tests, I would highly recommend it!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 15 October 2009
University professors advised me to grap a bargain and buy CCNA companian guides instead of standard textbooks, as they're now so cheap compared to the latest editions from Cisco.

Cisco have revamped their exam structure - but the CCNA level 1/2 and CCNA level 3/4 are superb for university courses in Bsc (Hons) Computing, IT Security and Networking.

So for all cash strapped uni students - here's a tip for gaining a first in your computing degree. Use these books!! Certainly the Uni professors have seen the gap in the market - gets their students the best tuition at cut price.

So far I've had A16's in all Networking assignment/exams.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2007
When you first see this book you may feel rather daunted by it as it is a pretty thick book, but when you actually start to read it you get the feeling the book has been simplified but no so much so that it makes you feel daft, its a very handy book and an interesting read i would recommened how ever that you have a slight knowledge of Networking or PC's before hand as some sections may just cover a topic with out explaininmg its self properly, its good read if your into the subject maybe a bit of knowledge needed, 5 Stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
Cisco is offering the CCNA (Cisco Certified Network Associate Program) professional qualification and therefore they have published the appropriate companions for their on-line curriculum.
CCNA 3 and 4: Companion Guide is a useful companion that has helped me a lot during semesters 3 and 4, as has CCNA 1 and 2: Companion Guide also done, since I am a CCNA student at the moment. The book is well written, in an easy-to-understand way and they try to make things as easy and understandable as they can be.

But, there are huge differences between the book and the on-line curriculum and that shows the poor effort from Cisco in devising the whole new version 3 of the CCNA. The book introduces during semester 3 concepts that will be taugth in semester 4 and this goes on!!!

I am not at all dissapointed that I bought the book, but I am a bit dissapointed in Cisco! They could do a better job. After all, they want to call themselves leaders, right???

Buy the book and try no to pay too much attention to some stuff that you will immediately recognise as "alien"...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2008
This is the old version of the course, and therefore no longer accurate or valid for the new course.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Network-Fundamentals-Exploration-Companion-Networking/dp/1587132087

this is the item you need.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
Extremely helpful for Networking, Forensic and specialist IT students.
Consists of all the fundamentals you usually cover in the first year of a Computing degree course.

Delivery was also quick!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2011
Would recommend this book to anyone doing a CCNA. As you would expect, it has all the information you need to pass the exams, but can be quite hard reading at times. Aside from that, very useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)