Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
14


on 7 March 2017
A very good look at consciousness from a different view point
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 September 2016
I am in firm agreement with the 2 early reviewers Mrs Lugg and Mr Bishop, having read many writers on this subject the range and the consistency of the book are impressive. Gary Lachman manages to flow through the history of the subject clearly illustrating the various and different approaches that both the stars of the field, and often also the little known and even hidden writers and luminaries, have offered. All of it, to my mind, valid and useful to our understanding. And he is inclusive in doing this, and clearly sets about outlining the esoteric links to just about every aspect of our culture. The warmth to his subjects, and the obvious enjoyment of their endeavours draws us readers towards their meaningful contributions, without denying the more difficult to swallow elements often welded to them. I am now set to read the back catalogue of this of this fascinating writer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2016
Haven't finished reading this book yet, but I love it! Lachman has done it again ... each of his books I have read leaves me feeling so grateful for his clarity and communication skills. Like blowing fog away.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2016
A thorough & excellent read! Gary Lachman is a Great thinker of our time. Along with Colin Wilson, anyone who wants to understand consciousness & the mind, these are the people\books to read!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2011
This is the best non-fiction book that I have ever read and that's saying something, as I am an avid reader of all genres; having read other books on the same subject, including those of Colin Wilson, who wrote the foreword here, I have to say that this book is the best and most lucid that I have come across.

What a great book bringing together many of the thoughts of the great minds who have applied them to the task of really trying to define what actually human consciousness is; even whether it CAN actually be defined and described.

Lachman's book is erudite, easy to read even when, of necessity, he has been obliged to use some of the more esoteric terms from psychiatry and those coined by various different thinkers, etc. In fact, all-in-all, this book is a great undertaking just in the way it is put together, flowing easily on from one concept into another, never mind the excellent, lucid explanations.

He occasionally introduces his own very worthy thoughts on the various ideas and often remarks about the similarity of thought which does, in fact, run throughout the book, thus making one aware that some of these great thinkers have thought along the same lines, which makes me, at least, think that they do definitely have a grasp on, or perhaps, for want of a better phrase, are on the outskirts of this undoubtedly notoriously difficult to define subject.

Anyone who has ever wondered about the human mind and consciousness in general should read this book and find out what others over the past couple of hundred years or so have to say; as the other reviewer remarked, it has spurred him on to obtain the writings of many of the thinkers mentioned - the very same applies to me, which is why I think so highly of Lachman's great book.

In any event, this book is VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2003
Gary Lachman, the author of the highly engaging Turn Off Your Mind, has, with this new work, again written a very lively account of a part of modern intellectual history. This book traces the development, from the late 19th century up to our own time, of the idea of the collective transformation of human consciousness, both the evidence of such evolution in the past, and speculation about future evolution. A fascinating array of thinkers is presented, at a pace that is fast but not superficial. Even readers who are already familiar with these thinkers will find much to engage their minds and send them off into profound reflections of their own. One important measure of this book's success is that it has inspired this reader to go directly to the works of the authors covered.
11 Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2012
Loved it. Did not know the former bassist for Blondie has been writing very thoughtfull books on consciousness for years now. Highly recommandble if you want to understand humanity, its history and continued evolution.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 October 2014
Excellent wide-ranging journey through the development of consciousness. Agrees with all aspects of teachings from the likes of Seth in the series "Seth Speaks" etc., dictated through Jane Roberts, and shows a consistent line that has always been available to those who seek.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2016
Interesting ideas laid out in a vaguely engaging format but with a lot of waffle in between.....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2014
The less academic chapters are well worth a read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)