Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
12
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£21.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2006
This is a very good and attractive book. Muay Thai is presented in detail over 210 pages. The book is in colour throughout and the photographs are excellent!
The book deals with all important aspects when beginning Muay Thai.
Book contents:
Part I: History and Muay Thai today.
Part II: The fighting position, the steps and the fighting distance.
Part III: A presentation of all important fist techniques, elbow techniques, knee techniques, kicking techniques and clinch techniques over more than 70 pages. The techniques are illustrated in numerous pictures, thus allowing them to be easily copied. The techniques are demonstrated by top Thai sportsmen.
Part IV: Combinations of attack techniques.
Part V: A number of important defence techniques and counter techniques.
Part VI: Information regarding training.
The author presents additional counter techniques and historical techniques in his Advanced book. I can recommend this book as well.
The Basics book is ideal for beginners and Muay Thai enthusiasts. In my opinion, it is one of the best martial arts books that I have ever seen.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2006
This book is well illustrated with some great pictures. It IS an introductory to Thai Boxing techniques, and a good book to start your collection of with.

If you have been involved in Thai Boxing or Muay Thai for more than a year or two, then this book shouldnt really offer you anything new.

If your complete beginner this is a good book for you.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2008
I like this book, simple and constructive, you will learn about the tradition and history which is nice and there are loads of good photos and good combos to practice.

for any beginner this a fantastic book
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2010
I recently started learning Muay Thai. After a few weeks in the gym I decided to supplement my classes with a book, to instruct and reaffirm the new techniques I learnt.

This book is great for a beginner in Muay Thai. It is concise, has lots of pictures, and helpful Do's/Don't at the end of each chapter.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
This is a very well written book on the Basics of Muay Thai. It covers every important aspect. The techniques are easy to understand and the photos are great.
The best intro to Muay Thai I have seen!
I also recommend the Muay Thai dvds and the other Muay Thai books Muay Thai Counter Techniques: Competitive Skills and Tactics for Success of this series.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
This is a nice book, very clear pictures giving you all you all the basic moves. there are some pictures that left me wondering just how a leg/foot ended up where it was and some 'in between' pictures with the spins and high kicks would have been very helpful.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2010
Provides in detail all about muay thai about how it started and to helping you improve your technique. it uses pictures to help illustrate your footwork so it helps improve your technique. Ideal for beginners and professionals.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2006
This is a Brillant book & hardly basic yes it has basic techniques but also very advanced techniques. The Kicking Punching Shin Kicks Elbows Knees Conditioning Sparring you name it its here. Buy the book!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
Bought for a school library for a specific student and he is really enjoying it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2014
Good instructions for the beginner
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)