Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
47
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£21.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 5 September 2009
The Walking Dead is an ongoing black-and-white comic book series about a group of survivors looking for sanctuary in an America which has been overrun by zombies. Book One of the hardcover releases ended with Rick & his not-so-merry band finding a prison which they hope will protect them from the overwhelming hordes of walking dead. But first, they'll have to clear out the zombies which are already inside. They also encounter a group of former prisoners - but can they be trusted?

This volume covers #13-24 of the comic, or #3-4 of the softcover TPB's. Aside from including cover art from the original comics & a couple of sketches, it's printed in an oversized format, which really brings out the best in Adlard's atmospheric art.

Fans of Book One may find this hard to believe but Book 2 is actually even better. Events progress at break-neck speed with so many shocks & cliff-hangers that I could not put it down & read almost all of it in one sitting. The writing is incredibly economical, with every panel crammed with action, or character development, or both. The survivors become embroiled in several thought-provoking, ethically murkey situations. Seeing how the pressures of leadership affect Rick is especially satisfying - he may have started off as an all-American hero but he is quickly becoming something more well-rounded & unsettling.

The Walking Dead ticks all the boxes - it's action-packed, touching, thought-provoking and has zombies by the skipload. What more could you possibly want?
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
Was troubled trying to decide whether I should start reading Walking Dead by buying the Trade Paperbacks, The Hardback Books or the Compendium. While the compendium is by far the cheapest, it's size and paperback format makes you feel like you're reading a phone book. These Hardback books are a great size and a great quality. As well as that they include all the original issue covers and Trade Paperback covers, plus some other stuff. Anyone looking to collect them all should definitely purchase them this way!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2012
The 5 stars are for the book only. Carrying on the story from book 1, you are now behond the point of the tv series. It carries on in the same fashion as book 1, a great story, with amazing drawings. With it being a graphic novel it doesnt take long to read. at £16.89, although this is alot for a book it is in the region of 40% cheaper than you will be able to find it anywhere on the highstreet, that is if you can.

I ordered this at 12pm on the 5th April, it was dispacthed on the 5th, on the 7th it was sent to the wrong address, then it finally arrived on the 11th!. I know this covers a bank holiday weekend but i was still disapointed with the wait. The tracking toll also only updated each event the day after it happened. No real time tracking service.

But even so this is a GREAT book at a fantastic price. Cant really say to much in terms of the story without it being a spoiler, but if you have read the first book or watched the tv series you WILL enjoy this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
These books get better and better every time. If you love The Walking Dead (TV) then you will love these books. Please note that the story is different from the TV programme but just as good and even more gory.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
I enjoyed book two quite a lot more than book one. Probably because I spent most of book one getting used to reading comic book format. By book two I was used to all that I could really enjoy the story.

I thought the action was better and there was much more of it. The characters development was interesting. Some of them are really starting to lose their minds in this new world and it made some of them do some really stupid things.

The death toll rises A LOT in this volume. I wasn't expecting so many characters to be killed off... despite having already watched all the TV episodes. You can't really compare it to the TV episodes though or expect things to happen the same way because they absolutely do not. This actually makes reading the graphic novels more interesting because it means I don't know what's gonna happen next!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
I enjoyed this book even more than no.1 but tbh I just love these books, the comics seem so much better than the TV series, don't get me wrong I love the TV series but the comics seem so much more interesting and gripping.
Some emotional events in this book which made it even more interesting and want to read more.
The delivery was very quick!
Recommend to anyone who loves a gripping story and zombies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
After finishing the last page of the 1st book I immediately ordered this and was not let down!
gripping characters and stories!
Again a must buy if a fan of the show or book 1.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
This may have been an isolated incident but the book was double printed so not all of the story was there, key points were taken away by previous pages reprinted instead of the pages that were meant to be there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2015
Bought this along with Book one as a Christmas present for my son, who is a Walking Dead fanatic. He was not disappointed. It's a set of story's in cartoon format and he loves it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2015
I am using this particular collection as part of an English B level course in Denmark, and this product has proven to be a very useful for inspiration for the theme.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse