Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
11
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 September 2006
Is what it is... Harry Potter in Irish. Bought this for my girlfriend, and she loved it, so if you're into the Irish language, then this is a great wee book, teaches you lots of new words you probably haven't heard of before!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2010
Harry Potter is essential reading regardless of what language you speak (or read), so I won't dwell on the plot itself.

The translation is top-notch. It may be a bit advanced for beginners but it's definitely worth sticking with. Once you familiarize yourself with the magical jargon, which most people wouldn't have come across beforehand, you begin to fly through the pages, enjoying J.K. Rowling's masterpiece for what it is.
Máire Nic Mhaoláin has done a tremendous job translating and one can only hope that the Chamber of Secrets (or 'Seomra na Rún' as the in-sleeve teases) is in the works.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
i have started to learn Irish and this book is sitting on my book case cheering me on i can not wait for the day that i can read it!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
I bought this book to help me study the Irish language..It was dispatched to me very quickly and arrived in brand new condition,so I am very happy with this purchase and I am enjoying decifering the Irish language with the help of the same book in the original English.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2011
This is exactly what I wanted, the book is in perfect condition, and it's all as Gaeilge! I can't wait to read it, hopefully the rest of the series will eventually be published in Irish, that would be amazing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
Bought for my children to ensure they keep up their Irish! Shame the remaiining books in the series appear to be out of print.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2014
really pleased with this I searched long and hard for an irish language edition and it was a fair price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 April 2016
Why oh why was this book not around when I was at school, much better than Peig or Duil. Good translation, really enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2015
I'm still struggling through this translation, but really enjoying it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2015
Fantastic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse