Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
14
5.0 out of 5 stars

on 3 June 2017
If you want to make your own Armour and gather some good advise on how to make what you want ,this is the book for you.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2017
Superb information resource, an excellent addition to any armourers information catalogue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2009
amazing book,everything you need to know on how to make armour and work with metal.l highly recommend this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2001
I have no doubt that this must be the pivotal book for modern armour reproduction. Each section is well written, interesting and highly informative and served to inspire and drive me into this difficult but rewarding field. The author gives practical advice on setup requirements and tool buying/manufacture. There are several chapters concentrating on specific build projects and at each stage, there are directions for further reading or information. The book is highly illustrated throughout.Anyone considering begining this hobby must have this as their starting point! Both thoroughly enjoyable and useful.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2009
Price's book is widely recognised as the definitive work on reproduction of medieval armour. Indeed, it's so good I'm considering buying a second copy - one for reference in the workshop and one for research in the home.

Price's writing style is accessible, and his instruction is comprehensive, never leaving the reader in any doubt about how a technique is applied. The photography is also excellent, providing informative accompaniment to the text.

If you are a metalworker, or even if you're just interested in armour, this book will not disappoint.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2012
I have this book in both physical book and Kindle versions (literally just received the Kindle version a day ago prior to this review).

As much as I like 'real' physical books I realised that my copy would get worn out quickly, as this book is simply a joy to read. Having recently acquired an iPad, what better than to get the kindle version.

The physical book suffers very slightly in that (in my copy at least) the photos are a touch too dark and unfortunately some of the detail is lost.

The kindle version benefits from brighter enhanced reproduction of the photos.

I personally would have paid extra for colour photos, as in some of the photos, grey metal against another grey metal makes it hard to work out what you are looking at. Convex can look concave in photos. But this really is a minor gripe.

The kindle version has odd page splits (the captions for illustrations are not necessarily on the same page the images they are referring to are on). There is the odd typo, but this doesn't detract from the content. Section/article navigation is made easy by links in the contents page.

A well written, passionately researched book, stuffed full of information, and very clear instructions on turning yourself into the knight in shining armour for your lady.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2010
A great book, very informative and encompassing. Gives guidance on the required tools and the use of them. Excellent for reference and undertaking this work yourself. Recommended!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2011
Presently, as a Kindle author, I am engaged in writing a book set in the medieval period and I need a good practical reference regarding the armour of the time. This book exceeded my expectations. It not only describes all the basic items of armour, but also places the medieval techniques of manufacture alongside those of the present day. The many illustrations that show actual techniques for making armour have been most useful to me. The book is very well written and the illustrations are splendid. For me it is probably the best introduction to the armoury of the period that can be found. I should imagine that anyone engaged in the actual making of armour for modern reenactment groups would find it not just a reference, but a tool as well.

Who Wrote Marlowe - Shakespeare's Literary Hoax
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2010
As a long time Blacksmith and a first time armourer, I found this book extremely valuable. It contains everything that I was hoping to find in a book to get started on the road to armour making. Well presented and articulated in an easy to understand format. An excelent book and to my mind well priced for a book that is so technically informative. Dietmar Fleckhammer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2012
I'd suggest this book for anyone starting out in the armouring buisness. It gives a huge wealth of information and has enabled me to increase my own skill at a far faster rate than I was before buying this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here