Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
10
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 December 2010
'Fifty Reasons Why Jesus Came to Die' by John Piper is a really excellent book. Each chapter is only a few pages so it's easy to follow and to pick up if you have a few spare minutes and subsequently is great way to get yourself thinking about the cross of Jesus. Most people know the story of the crucifixion fairly well - if that is you, as I know that that is me, this book will get you thinking about just how awesome the cross actually is, and how, even today, the consequences for us are just beyond what our minds can cope with. It would even make a good book to read out at dinner time if you have a teenage kids, or to do a Bible Study, and even on your own. As hinted in the title of this review, I highly recommend this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2006
Life is short, especially for quinquagenarians! So I like short books, because they don't get me bogged down in something that may turn out to be a waste of time!

This book appears to be one that is trying to attract an audience on the coat tails of Mel Gibson's movie, but I think that its value will keep it in circulation, long after everyone is saying "Mel Who?"

It is a great book for daily meditation on Jesus' death for us.

Highly recommended
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2004
The timing of 'The Passion of Jesus Christ: Fifty Reasons Why He Came to Die' couldn't have been better. I thank and praise God for this book.
First of all, I write this review as someone who's seen the film, read the first 15 chapters (there are 50 short chapters in the book) of the book, and most importantly, as a Christian.
Despite what some might say about the film, Mel Gibson's film The Passion of the Christ presents an evangelistic opportunity in that Jesus is now on people's agenda when it woudln't have been otherwise. It is just saddening to think that many are walking out of the theatres having seen the film without the deep conviction that what Jesus achieved on the cross is in every way relevant to them, and that it has everything to do with their eternal life or death.
This book explains the purpose of Jesus' suffering and death on the cross. And it does it very well. John Piper's commanding knowledge on the doctrine of redemption is obvious from chapter one (where he dives straight into the doctrien of propitiation) but he obviously has non-Christians in mind too as he writes in such clear, easy to understand style. If you are a Christian, it would be a great book to buy, read yourself, then to give away to your non-Christian friend who's seen the film. It also has a very helpful list of 'Books on the Historical Reliability of the Bible's Record' at the back if your non-Christian friend (or yourself!) are interested in that.
Over in the States, over 1.37 million copies of this book have been distributed already. I pray that God would save many people through the truths laid out so clearly in this book.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2016
Book did not have as much depth as I expected, possibly because each chapter is so short. It is pretty much a collection of several New Testament Bible verses.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
Amazing prophecies all fulfilled by our Lord Jesus' death and resurrection.
There truly is no other Name given under Heaven by which a man must be saved!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2016
I am really enjoying this book, a great resource to use day by day, it is so much more than just a book to read but rather a resource to study each day
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
This is a very important even vital book to fully understand why Jesus came to us and died for us - every seeking person should read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2016
This is a classic read,it states all that Jesus has accomplished on the Cross?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2014
So wonderful to understand more about the cross
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2016
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)