Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 January 2010
This may well be the best book on the subject of home bread-making ever. The first 100 or so pages are definitely the best dissertation on bread making you're likely to come across. Gratifying, too, to see recommended some of the things I've been doing instinctively.

I don't understand the gripes about "cup measurements" - my copy has both cups and ounces. Grams would have been better, but one has to make allowances for the colonies, and conversion is hardly a chore - it's not as if one has to convert all the recipes at once. For anyone wanting to go with the US measurements, measuring cups are widely available, so I don't see that it's any sort of a problem.

Buy this book, and it's precursor, Crust and Crumb (also in cups and ounces) - you won't be disappointed.
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2015
One of the great things about buying this book as a gift for family was that I benefited too. Weekly freshly baked bread was well worth the cost.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
Can not recommend this enough IF you are keen on complex methods and perfect results.
However do not expect to find easy or quick recipes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
Very well written book even for non-professional bakers as myself. Tried already few breads and they came out greater than before :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
In addition to the recipes this is a beautifully written book, a joy to read. No bread baker should be without one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
An excellent resource for new and experienced bread bakers, my favourite cookbook in my kitchen by far
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
If you want to go deeper into the art of bread making then Peter Reinhart's book is the ulitmate read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
Fantastic recipes for the advanced bread-baker. Not always easy, but the results are best bread ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Very pleased with purchase, great book and really fast delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2016
Cutting my teeth on kindle reading with this book. Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)