Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2017
G K C had his own inimitable style of writing. Though he wrote Orthodoxy,his circuitous way of challenging a reader needs time.It grows on you.He may have been orthodox in his beliefs, buit he was unconventional in reaching his target.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
Good book from a superb author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
Chesterton has all the robust humour of perfect sanity. How affectionately and gently he mocks those views in deadly opposition to his. I keep re-reading this volume amazed at its magic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2008
My two-star rating for this book refers not to the great quality of the work, but to the poor quality printing of this 2008 hard-cover "First Edition" by "Wilder Publications".

I have little to add to previous comments and recommendations for Chesterton's "The Everlasting Man", though I would add, as an aside, that you don't have to be a Roman Catholic, or an Orthodox Christian in order to appreciate its arguments. The common-sense writing is witty and mostly good-humoured, though some youngsters might find the style a little archaic. (C S Lewis, in "Surprised by Joy", describes GKC as a most sensible author, and I certainly agree).

But, looking for a hard-cover version, I bought a recent publication of this work from "Wilder Publications" and now wish I hadn't. I would advise others to avoid it; it has many typographical mistakes and astonishing truncations. For example, most of Chesterton's wonderful (and crucial) introduction has been left out; "h"s have been printed as "b"s where the spell-checker would not notice ("had" becomes "bad", for instance); chapter headings are missing from the tops of pages within the chapter (always annoying); lines of text are too long and awkwardly spaced; punctuation marks improperly placed; in my view, all symptoms of a rather poor standard of publishing.

It is inexcusable, in my opinion, for great works of literature to be marketed in such feeble condition. Whatever happened to proof-reading and quality control?

So I suggest you look elswhere than to "Wilder's" amateurish effort for your copy. Let's hope that the "Second Edition" (if "Wilder" should ever print one) will at least be correct and unabridged.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Everlasting Man is, some would argue, G.K. Cheserton's greatest work. Chesterton explores what was the state of the world and the human race right before Jesus' birth, and what people were thinking about the gods and each other. Was Jesus just another rabbi or philosopher, or was He weirder than our culture tends to remember? C.S. Lewis was an atheist until he read Chesterton's, The Everlasting Man, but he wasn’t afterwards, prompting Lewis to observe that a young man who is serious about his atheism cannot be too careful about what he reads.

Of all of Chesterton’s literary monuments, this is perhaps his greatest, for he eloquently and concisely packs the whole human story between the covers of one book. He begins by pointing out that the main problem with the critics of the Church is that they are too close to it to see it properly. They cannot see the big picture, only the small picture that directly affects them. With their sulks and their perversity and their petty criticism, they are merely reacting to the Church. What they need to do is back up. And that’s what Chesterton has the reader do in this book. Back up far enough and to see the Church in all its startling beauty and unexpected truth. Cannot recommend this book highly enough.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 1998
Everlasting Man had a decisive role in one of the most important conversions of the this century. C.S. Lewis described reading it in 1925 when he was still an atheist:
Then I read Chesterton's Everlasting Man and for the first time saw the whole Christian outline of history set out in a form that seemed to me to make sense . . . I already thought Chesterton the most sensible man alive "apart from his Christianity." Now, I veritably believe, I thought that Christianity itself was very sensible "apart from its Christianity." (Surprised by Joy p.223)
When asked what Christian writers had helped him, Lewis remarked in 1963, six months before he died, "The contemporary book that has helped me the most is Chesterton's The Everlasting Man." (God in the Dock p.260.)
The book has two parts. The first is titled "On the Creature called Man." It uses the available evidence from paleontology, an! cient history, comparative religions, etc. but brings it together in remarkable ways. The questions he asks (and to some extent, answers) are the ones we continue to brood over: How is man different from other animals? Why are there so many religions? How do we make some sense out of our long and tumultuous human history?
The questions raised in the first part receive a more definitive answer in the second: "On the Man called Christ." It is not that Jesus gives a step by step response to each of the queries. Rather he begins by throwing us into an even more perplexing quandary. Chesterton asks what it would really be like to read the Gospel free of all preconceptions. The effect would not be "gentle Jesus, meek and mild," but rather someone who jars our sensibilities. As Chesterton points out, the most honest response might be "stark staring incredulity." Did he really do that? How could he say something so preposterous?
Chesterton's genius ! is to help us face the paradox, the seeming contradiction. ! Really there are only two possible responses to the riddle of the Gospel. Either Jesus is a blashemer (as Caiphas charged) or he is who he claimed to be--and the apostles professed him to be. In that claim Jesus is unique. Mohamet did not suggest equality with Allah. Moses was never placed on a par with Yahweh. Buddha, Zoroaster, Confucius never made assertions of divinity. Those who did were megolomaniacs like Caligula or the unfortunate people we confine to insane asylums. Yet few consider that Jesus was that kind of person. Chesterton, like C.S. Lewis after him, helps us confront the incredible implications of this greatest of all paradoxes.
He then asks the next logical question. Is the Church a continuation of Jesus or a breaking away from him? The first might seem hard to accept, but the second involves even greater difficulties. As a help to making the correct choice, Chesterton asks us to reflect on the analogy of a key. Its truth depends on whether it fits the lock! . You won't get very far analyzing its seemingly odd shape. What you have to is see if it opens the door.
In reflecting on the key (the creed) Chesterton uses what he calls "the witness of the heretics." (a.k.a. dissenters) Each one tried to reshape the key. The church has constantly resisted that. As Chesterton brilliantly illustrates, only if the key retains its shape will it unlock the door.
In the final chapter Chesterton gives one of the most remarkable arguments for the truth of faith: the "five deaths" of the Church. We are not the first ones to live in an age which has concluded the church was moribund, passé. But it has experienced some remarkable resurrections like a phoenix rising from its own ashes. Chesterton analyzes five times when that happened and offers his reflection on what that means for us today.
I say "today" because even tho Everlasting Man was written almost 75 years ago, it addresses many concerns which are stil! l current: evolution, feminism, historicism, cultural relati! vism, economic and social determinism, etc. It is salutary to see that back in the 20's these issues were already "old stuff." TV programs and magazine articles meant to be bold or shocking all of a sudden seem hackneyed.
In addition to its other merits, this book has the value of being immensely entertaining. Not that it is an easy read. In fact it requires a lot of concentration. Chesterton sometimes piles paradox upon paradox in a way that one can feel dazzled and conclude he does not have substance behind his words. But that is a hasty conclusion. To read Chesterton requires a patience which is perhaps more difficult in our age. Yet to read him slowly and meditatively will bring great rewards.
11 Comment| 77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2009
Wow, this book is really something special. Definitely one of those books that change the way you see something or at least makes you understand it a lot more profoundly. Chesterton in his witty and unique way shows us the whole history of mankind. It was a must have book for C.S. Lewis and he was quite selective, so that's saying a lot. I often felt that this is the way Christianity should have been explained to me from the start. Probably the best book for the modern Christian (besides the Bible).
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2016
I haven't read the book yet only some extracts on the web I found interesting but this edition is disgusting still readable but that police is too small and there was enough space for a bigger police while keeping the same amount of pages. I would expect that king of police on a big dictionary. It really kills the pleasure of reading.
review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2011
Amazon should force the publisher to pull or resupply this book: it is littered with typos and errors from scanning, and doesn't have a proper table of contents. A disgrace to the Kindle store and to G. K. Chesterton, whose greatest work deserves much better than this.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2016
Pages aren't numbered and writing is so small it;s unreadable.......
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)