Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
37
4.0 out of 5 stars


on 5 October 2013
Having read this book before in my teenage years and being thoroughly impressed with Dion Fortune's lucid exposition of a rather complex cosmology / psychology I was absolutely appalled at what a disservice was done to this wonderful text by such sloppy editing (if there was any editorial process happening at all) in this edition. All I can say is shame, shame, shame. Perhaps the copyright could be given to Dion Fortune's own Society of the Inner Light. I am sure that they would do the text justice and truly honor the spirit of their founder by handling her most famous text in the respectful manner that it truly deserves.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2010
This is a wonderful classic of hermetic qabalah, a must for anyone interested in magick. Dion Fortune was a great mystical and magickal writer and teacher, inspiring to this day. But this edition, published by the Fraternity Sanctum Regnum (FSR), is execrable, filled with typos and poor editing generally, with tiny characters. The only thing it's good for is scribbling notes all over the margins, which Dion Fortune's thoughts certainly inspire me to do. My advice - get a decent edition of this book, although if this is all you can find (as was my case at the time), then better a poor edition than having to do without the book altogether.
22 Comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2017
This is a review of this specific print edition not the subject matter in general.

I purchased this to replace an old paperback copy that is showing wear and tear. I wish I hadn't. The layout and typeface is disorganised, it is riddled with spelling mistakes and in places text is overlaid on text so it is illegible. There are random parenthesis with gibberish in them. It looks like somebdy has taken the original and put it through a poor OCR system and just hit 'print' without proof reading any of it.

I will be tracking down an earlier version on a second hand book site, avoid this one....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
This ebook is littered with punctuation and spelling mistakes making it difficult to interpret exactly what the author is saying.
Buy another version as this one does a disservice to this excellent book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2017
Very informative pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2017
Well chuffed and happy with it. A A A A A A A A A A A + + +
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
This is the study guide to accompany most of Dion Fortune's fictional stories. Where they might lack in practical detail, this book fills the voids.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2016
WARNING: DO NOT BY THIS EDITION VIA AMAZON. It is rife with spelling errors, line breaks, and missing bits rendering parts of it unreadable. It is a travesty and grave injustice to Ms. Fortune's fine work, which is now in public domain, and apparently the Amazon Print department decided to make money by issuing their adaptation of it. Hunt down a pre-2000 edition and get the original text...you will be most satisfied.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
Not for the feint hearted but I guess if you were feint of heart you would not be considering it :-)
A book which brings some form of structure to one of THE most complicated of subjects known (and to so many; still quite unknown).
I tick the 5 stars box as it is 'A Truly Wonderful and Enlightening Read' but one is unwise to judge its value after only the first immersion - more visits to its text will undoubtedly uncover so much more - sometimes it is necessary to look twice in order to see once

32 good reasons to give it 5 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)