Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
55
4.4 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 May 2012
I'm a confirmed fan of Ari Seth Cohen's blog, a badly-needed antidote to contemporary fashion's obsession with extreme youth and a very limited definition of beauty. (It was not always this way - before the 1960s the great couturiers designed with the elegant older woman in mind and younger women aspired to look like her.) I have been waiting eagerly for this book and am not disappointed. Seth Cohen's subjects show that you don't have to become invisible once you hit fifty. Aged from sixty-five up to a hundred, these wonderful women (and one or two men) run the whole gamut of styles from over-the-top theatricality to elegant minimalism. What they all have in common is that they are dressing to please themselves and they look as if they enjoy every minute of it. There is not a cookie-cutter fashion-follower among them - each has honed her (or his) personal style to perfection and wears it with pride.
The photographs are beautiful. I'd have liked a little more text, as I enjoy the wit and wisdom of the Advanced Style women, but maybe that would have meant fewer pictures.
The blog mentioned recently that a film is in preparation. I can't wait.
22 Comments| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2016
Oh cant rave enough about this book since i am close to that age group and have my own style its good to see older women who dont let the lack of cool fashion for older women hold them back from being stylish knockouts. Brilliant just brilliant
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
This is a very thin and cheaply produced book. The paper is just as cheap as children's colouring in books, which is disappointing. I expected something with more style particularly since it is a book about style. The drawings are nice and they are based on the pictures that you find on the website. If had seen this and felt the paper I would not have bought it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2012
I did not expect it to be so big, which was a nice surprise - it is quite a chunky volume, not much text but the little amount written is brilliant. Quality of the photographs is superb. That book really inspired me to experiment with my hair style and clothing on the very same evening it arrived. Highly recommended for the mature beauties like myself who love uniqueness and style.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
It was very refreshing to have a Fashion-related book dedicated to the Mature Woman. Many of the ladies photographed proved that style and elegance lives on, no matter what your age! Though the author should be congratulated for focusing on this particular group, there were moments within the book where one's own personal taste may not have been in total agreement with his. It would have been a better format if he classed the various subjects within different categories-eg.' Elegance'; 'Eccentric';'Glamourous' etc. Well done to Mr. Cohen nonetheless for honouring the memories of his grandmothers'!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Fabulous book - full of colour and it cements the adage - you may age, but there is no need to grow old!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2012
An amazing insight into the colourful world of many 'advanced style' women.
This book has certainly changed my views on getting older.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
Ari Seth Cohen is a remarkable young man in his mission to highlight older people. As an older person I find this book inspiring, uplifting and makes me smile on the darkest days. The downside is that it makes me want to go and live in Manhatten where I could also go and do my own thing, however eccentric.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
This wonderful book celebrates the energy of life. Ari Seth Cohen photographs older women whose vitality is expressed through their stylish outfits. These women display Individuality, creativity and a soupcon of rebelliousness. It is a joy to experience them through their pithy comments and through Ari's gorgeous photographs .
This is a book for anyone interested in seeing the human spirit made visible.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2017
Wonderful book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)