Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
119
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 January 2016
This is a well presented collection of Vivian Maier's work. The hardback is well bound, using satisfyingly heavy, glossy paper.

I'm not overly familiar with the entire breadth of her work, but there are some (on the surface, at least) odd inclusions to this collection. The other strange thing is the blank pages...about 15-20 of them, scattered throughout the book. I could almost understand if they were all at the start or end, but they seem randomly placed (and they're also numbered). Surely, extra images could have been added to fill these? Weird.

Overall, a great collection of similarly great shots.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
Beautiful book, about a very interesting woman. The photos are good quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
Great book but I can't understand why there are blank pages inside the book - she took thousands and thousands of amazing pictures - no blank pages needed. Other than that great images and happy overall.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2017
Arrived with cover torn and spine damaged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2015
Yeap, impress everyone with this book, browse once and shelve.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2017
Beautiful book, made a great gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
.... yes.

I read a review of this book in B&W and bought it because of the storey around the finding of the photos. I am so pleased I did as this is a purely amateur photographer out with her Rolleiflex in the 40-90's recording every day New York life. Its surreal and its fantastic. Now I love Henri cartier Bresson and The Decisive Moment, and I took ages to get a copy of Robert Franks Americans, but they are "professional". Their eye is somewhat different to Vivian Maier. They work for profit, she works to provide Art and there is a wealth of difference in their approaches.

I am amazed at this woman's courage. remember this is a lady with a camera in what could be an aggressive environment. She hasn't got a small inconspicuous leics a, she has a Rolleiflex which is not conspicuous at all. yet she get close up to people who clearly see her including down and outs, drunks and Police situations. She also loves mirror images of herself and others and there must by 6-8 in this book alone.

The book states that there are 10,000 negatives found when she died. This therefore is only the tip of the iceberg and I hope there is more to come.

I am sure there are many more great amateurs out there doing similar work and I so wish I could see that too.

If you want a great, timeless, book on black an white street photography. this is it!!
22 Comments| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I'm surprised how many one, two and three star reviews there are on US Amazon for this excellent photo book. On any level it really can't be faulted. Blank pages in a photo book are quite common though here the confusion was probably caused by having them very close to each other and repeated as such throughout the pages. Book designers would normally space a few blanks roughly evenly between all the photos. The printing by Asia Pacific is comparable to any other quality printed art book (and it costs less than quality printing in Europe or the US). The duotones use a 200 screen on a very acceptable 157gsm matt art with perfect register. The slight black/ochre feel to these photos, I thought, was a wise colour choice.

As to Vivian Maier's photos, the 106 in the book are quite stunning. In particular the framing is just prefect and I think this separates her work from other well known street photographers especially those classed as the New York School who go for a more emotional style of imagery. The photos reveal everyday street scenes in Chicago and New York and work so well because they always pull you into the composition without any distractions about what to look at first. The pacing helps here too, close-up portraits merge into medium shots and then, perhaps, a long shot saturated with detail. The more I looked through these pages the more the sequencing added to the photos.

If I have a criticism it is that there is really nothing about Vivian Maier. Her named website gives some background and I think it would have been helpful to the reader to have included some of this material

John Maloof, the book's editor, is to be congratulated on finding and preserving a treasure trove of photos by an unknown photographer who had such a remarkable eye. I'm hoping this will be the first of many books revealing Ms Maier's creative vision.

>>>LOOK AT SOME INSIDE PAGES by clicking 'customer images' under the cover.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
22 Comments| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2012
This is an awesome book for anyone into Street photography. Lovely pictures and rather moving considering the story behind this lady and her "found" photographs. Worth the money!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
IT WAS A BIRTHDAY GIFT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)