Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
41
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 March 2014
Found this book while Googling 'Rainbow - autistic spectrum disorder' while completing two autism training courses, including the Early Birds Plus course. We now sit and read a few pages at a time with our eight-year-old son as a tool to help him and us understand autism and his diagnosis. It is so good that his school SENCo has encouraged teachers and support staff to read it too and people on the course have also bought one after looking through our copy. We love how it is written for kids and adults to read and understand the content. Adults can also pick and choose sections or read from the start. It is written by two Mums who have children with autism and it feels that they understand the concerns and worries of both parent and child and have covered all aspects.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
I work as a support teacher.
Pupils often have little idea about their diagnosis but lots of experience of the challenges that it causes.
This is a great practical book in clear chunks and visually appealing to the 10 - 14 age range (or older)
Lots of explanations why?
lots of great info
Lots of why not/top tips lists.

Great for young people to understand their diagnosis, to work out what it means for them and to develop a tool kit of coping and succeeding strategies.

The only negative is that the vocab is all American - recess for break time.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
This really is a good buy to help you understand any form of ASD and its full of tips and ideas and whom to turn to for advice. Ideas for dealing with tricky and challenging situations. As you know most of the time you are left alone to deal with it yourself, this book will help give you the answers you are so desperately needing answers too or ideas
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
This is the best book to explain ASD to children that I've ever come across. Written in a language that children understand. Is informative without being patronising and optimistic to really boost the confidence and self esteem of kids on the spectrum. Great illustrations as well. Fantastic book
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
I shared this book with my son and it helped discussion of various issues. He has gone on to read sections himself. Helps him to know he is not alone and give him some of the reasons as to why he is behaving so differently in certain situations to others.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2016
This book has been great so far as my son has ASD and is aged 7 we have been on courses to help us help him, but there is always the tricky way of letting him know why he feels so different and frustrated with the world. I know 7 may sound a bit young but in our case he is already aware and we were advised to talk about it. This book gives you the great opportunitie to start talking about ASD and come back to when you want to talk and understand more. We have only gone through a few pages with our son just to touch the surface and it was enough of an opening for him to talk about how he feels. We will leave it to him when he wants to talk some more. Its well laid out and shows pictures to help him visualise and talks about him having this amazing brain. He thinks our brains are boring now and he has the super brain :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
Great book to guide us through those difficult times with our grandson as at times he can be very challenging and this book certainly gives us tips etc
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
A self help book for families which has had a universally positive response from the parents I have shared it with.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
This is great for anyone adults and children with or without an ASD getting the information about autism in an understandable way and how to assist those living with an ASD
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
This is an amazing book. For anyone just diagnosed or in the diagnosis process this helps any parent and child deal with stress an anxiety and helps the kids to understand why they do the things they do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse