Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now



on 24 July 2017
This is an amazing deck. While not a detraction, I somewhat wish that it had the planetary and astrological correspondences on the cards. With that said, this deck and the book that explains it (I bought both) is a work of art. The artist should be really proud of himself for this accomplishment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2017
Out of this world tarot deck. Excellent quality. The accompanying book is a must have. Not recommended for beginners.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2017
Gosh I love this deck of Tarot cards. The pictures are truly amazing and very workable once you get into them. I love how Patrick has taken the Rider-Waite message and given it his own magical twist. Very creative deck and I love using them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2017
Fantastic deck, from far my favourite
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 October 2017
Beautiful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2016
For anyone with the slightest interest in the Deviant Moon tarot this book is essential reading. All aspects of the production are first class and Patrick goes into great detail about the history of the cards and their development. The text is supported by just the kind of fabulous illustrations you could wish for and the end result is a large and comprehensive volume. Fans of this deck will probably know that the gestation period for this companion book has been quite some time so now it is finally here don't miss out. The cover is stunning and as soon as you lay eyes on it your expectations are high. It gives you the feeling you are in for a treat before you even turn to the first page.Enjoy
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2008
This deck is newly printed (Summer 2008) as a mass market deck: some initial problems with supply seem to have been experienced although in my opinion this shouldn't panic anyone into parting with more than the list price for this deck. Amazon have had supplies both in the UK and in the US although they seem to be coming in fairly small batches at the time of writing and seem to be selling fast.

The Deviant Moon is a highly imaginative and well thought out deck set in a strange world. Both Majors and Minors are fully illustrated and anyone familiar with the Rider-Waite-Smith tradition will find the deck readable straight out of the box. The LWB offers short descriptions and key words specific to the deck. The cards are full of rich detail and this makes for a good reading deck. Some people (not all) find the images in this deck very dark and I would recommend that anyone considering purchase goes to the deck's website beforehand to read more about the deck and to view some of the cards.

It is a great deck and deserves a place in your deck collection. I'm not sure I would recommend it as your only deck since some of the images could be disturbing to some..... but go and have a look at some more cards to decide for yourself.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2010
As mentioned above, this review is of the second edition of this deck, which was printed in China. Against many expectations, the printing came out better than expected, with brighter, richer colours that are more true to PD's designs. The deck's creator has been selling first-edition decks via his website, and also offers decks wrapped in paper that he covers with his own hand-drawn designs. IMHO, to buy a deck, it's more special to find his website and buy direct from Patrick himself!

Anyway, in sales terms, this deck has been a game-changer, one of the most popular and influential for decades, and as such, does have its detractors. Some people criticise the "dark" symbolism, and say the characters are all in urban surroundings - this completely ignores the fact that all the suit of Wands and many other cards, including the Major Arcana, are in rural locations. Anyone who calls this a nasty, negative or dark deck, can't have seen the Ace of Wands - ot the other Aces for that matter, Temperance, The World, the 3 and 10 of Cups, or the wonderfully passionate Lovers.

When it does want to draw attention to something negative though, it doesn't hesitate to grab you and present you with an image and a feeling than will stay with you far more than any other deck. Many of use who use this deck and compare notes agree that this is a "tough love" deck. If it needs to tell you something straight, it will do so. There's no sugar coating, and no "there are no negative meanings" for the DM. I think of it as the sort of friend who'll support me, but also offer criticism when I need it, and a good kick up the backside if that's best for my own good.

I came to the DM after a good basic grouding in Rider-Waite type decks, and it is very different to those. I don't think I'd say this is not a deck for beginners, but if you are a beginner approaching this deck, understand this is not a standard deck, and many of the meanings will not translate from a standard book. The DM does come with a very small booklet of meanings, however Patrick is right now compiling a full-size companion book for the publisher US Games, which I hope can be expected in 2011.

It might sound a bit new age, but I do believe that decks choose people, not the other way around. If you have seen a lot of the images from the DM and really feel it has something to teach you, go for it. Even with little previous experience, the small booklet included will give you enough jumping-off points for the imagination to get you going. You may then find you start to build up a tarot collection of other decks: feel free! Think of the DM as one voice in a fascinating ongoing discussion, and if this is the point where you want to jump in, go ahead!

This is a wonderful deck and doesn't deserve to be labelled as "dark". It's simply different, and very honest.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 September 2017
Beautiful deck,and powerful. I love these cards,they are unique and colourful,and fun, they keep you focused on the card and as you look at the card for information it comes...I love them. The colours and the characters faces all give you more knowledge that other decks don't give you. I would recommend these cards 100% they are a firm favourite, I've been reading tarot for nearly 40 years and had many decks but none gave me as much joy and knowledge as these ones do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2009
This deck is quite sick. The artwork is clear and compelling, its the evocative figures that make you feel 'wrong' inside. Its not horrific, gory or bloody, it just weirdly surreal. I bought it to face the 'dark side' as it were, and I am very pleased to own it even though to pick it up makes me feel like I am trying to make myself catch a big ugly spider. I think it has a lot to offer in terms of reading with it and I don't think it turns a reading into negative one but lends more truth to a reading instead.

It is based on the Rider-Waite and easy to read, although not quite as obvious.

The cards are well made, and a bit bigger than usual (taller and slimmer) and come in their own standard box.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)