Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 April 2017
I love the fact that all the images from the cards are in colour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
Excellent service. Delighted with the product. Will both use it again and recommend to others. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
Love my deck, great for beginners, arrived super speedy fast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
lovely colours
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
For the first time I've actually been able to see the finer details!!! I love the Original Riders and it is the pack that I use the most for my personal readings. However, there are certain cards which are SO dark that you literally cannot see what is going on - for example King of Pentacles, you would never know it was bull's head carved on his throne or that his cloak is covered in grapes. The Death card is also so dark you can't see the people lying on the floor etc.

The Radiant puts an end to all this. At last the drawings seem to have the veil lifted from them and you can see teh finer details, which are integral to understanding the cards clearly. The colours used are vibrant and the lines of the drawings are very clear.

The only drawback with these cards is that the drawings are not the original ones done by Pamela Coleman Smith. They are heavily based and almost identical to them but they are not quite the same. Now. This does lead to a couple of changes in the cards, for example the purple curtain behind the High Priestess is fully covering the scene behind the throne. In the Original cards, a corner of the curtain is raised showing us a glimpse of a river/pool of water behind her. This is crucial to the card's meaning and yet is lost in the Radiant version. In the World card, the dancer is pictured with 2 white wands in her hands but in teh traditional cards there's one black wand - another crucial detail.
I really wished they had applied these colours to the Originals and left the drawings in their original form.

These cards are excellent for studying the tarot because the colours, another integral part of the meanings, can be seen clearly. The drawings are neater and I imagine those who can only study/use decks taht are aesthetically pleasing will be overjoyed with these.

I don't think, personally for me, these will ever replace my beloved Originals but overall, if you are looking for a starter deck or want an upgrade to your Originals (perhaps for a client reading these would be more appealing) or you need a clear deck to study, I would truly recommend the Radiant.
22 Comments| 81 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
I have used the rider waite for many years (over 10) and my cards became very tired looking, saw these on a different site and bought them here cheaper. They are genuinly stunning, Lovely cards and so very vivid. Gives a brand new slant on the great tarot
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
Product arrived swiftly and the cards were in good condition however the box had a noticeably damaged corner so that they looked 2nd hand or used.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2016
The star graphics on the back of the cards give away if they are upright or reversed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
Lovely cards should have a better box
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2015
In my opinion the 'Radiant Rider-Waite Tarot Deck' is one of the better modern variants of the Rider-Waite tarot you can buy. The images are very clear and vivid in comparison to the 'Original Rider-Waite Tarot Deck' published by US Games Systems. A good comparative example of image clarity is to compare the King of Pentacles from the aforesaid deck to the Radiant Rider-Waite. You can actually see more details in the Kings cloak and his chair instead of it looking a little garbled. In addition to image quality, the images are printed on quite thick laminated cardstock, which means the cards will last a long time without getting dirty or bent. It also comes with a helpful short booklet with short traditional interpretations.

There are a few reasons why I gave this deck four stars instead of five. First there are white borders that surround the cards, which can be quite distracting and limiting. If you google image search 'Radiant Waite borders trimmed', you can see how amazing the cards look when the borders are removed. It would be great if the publisher could print a larger borderless edition of the deck as they do with many of their other decks.

My second criticism is I feel the 'Original Rider-Waite Tarot Deck,' 'The Rider Waite Deck' and the 'Smith-Waite Centennial Tarot Deck' have a certain atmospheric charm about them, while I feel this deck seems to have lost that charm due to being a bit over saturated, with an almost cartoon feel. On close inspection, there are some minor details left out from the original Rider Waite decks e.g Empress's crown. Finally, the retail price at time of my purchase on Amazon was £18.00, I feel that far too expensive for a deck of cards.

Minor criticisms aside, I believe this is a very good tarot deck to get if you are a beginner and would like something a bit different from the Rider-Waite decks.

If someone can please let my know why this review is getting thumbs down, it would be appreciated thanks.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)