Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 26 July 2012
Nobody knows how to write a love story quite like Hardy did.

The title of the book comes from one of the main players 'Clym Yeobright' who has returned from Paris to Egdon Heath to live once more with his Mother and his cousin Thomasin.

The fly in the ointment and the ultimate doom of nearly all, is Eustacia Vye, a beautiful yet bored girl who lives with her Grandfather and hates Egdon Heath with a vengeance. Today I think she would probably be called a 'tart' and a 'man eater'.

This is a fairly long book but if you like Hardy's writing you won't be bored by it as it gives vivid descriptions of Egdon Heath, descriptions of the locals and all sorts of old fashioned customs. It is a bit like a social history of times gone by.

My favourite character is Diggory Venn the Reddleman who ultimately saves or tries to save everyone from themselves.

A true masterpiece of the writers art and highly recommended.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
Having read all of Hardy's most popular books before this, it was on the list. However it takes a while to get going and the early part of the book is heavy on Hardys attempts (although successful) to describe in often laborious detail the scene of the countryside surrounding the plot. Once you stick with it, the main players are introduced and the twists and turns are woven, and not surprisingly untangled again. Well worth it to add to the fuller collection of his work but falls a little short of the brilliance of Mayor of Casterbridge or Far From The Madding Crowd.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2016
Compared with The Mayor of Casterbridge and Far from the Madding Crowd The Return of the Native wasn't as compelling a read. But it portrays Miss Eustacia Vye as unbelievably snobbish, conceited and self centred. The author of her own misfortune, she sees it all as the fault or malign intent of others. All the Thomas Hardy flair for ill-fortune, suffering and tragedy is present.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
This was a book the like of which I had not read before. Whilst I did find it quite hard to read because of the language, by the time I had read halfway through the book I did find it difficult to put down. The final thought was that it was worth the effort.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2015
I was recommended this book by a work colleague. At first I was going to stop reading as this book is a long burner, meaning that the first half of the book is setting the seen and introducing the characters to the reader. The second half is where the action starts and then the story unfolds. I can say I enjoyed this book, but I did not love it. Far from the maddening crowd was much better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
A tale of doomed lovers set in brooding heathland, though fans of Wuthering Heights may find this a little underheated. The characters are often quite hesitant, and never actually betray each other as much as expected. Instead, their fate is governed by the corrosive power of suspicion.

The real star of the book is the landscape. Hardy has wonderful powers of description, and Egdon Heath will probably live longer in my memory than the slightly underwhelming storyline. The heath is as lonely, unforgiving and impervious to change as the people who live there. Superstition thrives here, and dreams are smothered. The distance between the scattered cottages has a crucial bearing on how events unfold: it's a place where communication is difficult, so suspicion and misunderstanding grow like the furze.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
Classic Hardy and extremely emotional!! This is the second time I've read this book and it remains a wonderful read!! Not only is it a story of unrequited love but also affairs of the heart. It might seem dull to some as Hardy muses a great deal about the landscape; but his attention to detail is amazing and it puts the reader right in Egdon Heath.

As with all Hardy's novels, the tale has a dark undertone throughout but it is nonetheless a wonderful read. It is worth taking your time, especially for those who struggle with 19th Century literature. I am so glad I picked it up again as it reminded me how much I'd forgotten since the first time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
There is no better description of the English countryside than the first chapter of Hardy's Return of The Native. I read it again and again and always feel right there on that moonlit path with the Reddleman. The story can seem a bit sentimental at times and the writing self consciously stylish but this is Hardy and there is so much beauty, wisdom and humanity in his work you can easily forgive him. Return of the Native is my Desert Island book and I cant recommend it more highly to anyone unfamiliar with this beloved authors work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
When i started this book i wondered if it would live up to the more popular classics by Hardy, such as Tess of The D'urbavilles. I am very impressed and it is definitly as good as the others that i have read.

This is one of the most atmospheric books that i have read. the descriptions of the area in which the book is set are incredible as is the story itself.

As is typical of Hardy, this is another tragic tale of loving the wrong person and trying to correct it before it is too late. The chararcters are very believable and i found that i could almost imagine living in what seems like these most romantic of times. The hills,the heather etc...

Overall a brilliant book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2016
Hardy evokes and describes a rural life, so long gone and alien to our modern culture that it remains a delight to be transported back there. No cars, phones, technology...brilliant stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse