Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 November 2011
This book is a real gem for anyone interested in enriching and adding meaning to their relationship. It helps to have read Harris's other book The Happiness Trap [[ASIN:184529825X The Happiness Trap (Based on ACT: A revolutionary mindfulness-based programme for overcoming stress, anxiety and depression)]but this is not essential. Act With Love is a definite winner when it comes to facing and subseqently changing the DRAIN in ones relationship and recognising the areas for improvment within oneself rather than piling unrealistic expectations on ones partner! It's a good idea to download the free worksheets and to follow these as one reads the book, I found that very helpful and it makes the book more of a useful WORKBOOK rather than another random self-help book. If you are looking for ways to improve a loving relationship or indeed if you are seeking to save one that's a little shakey this is definitely the one for you. Three cheers for RUSS. M
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
Excellent book. Very helpful. Most books about relationships rely heavily on BOTH partners participating. This one offers exercises that give you a working strategy even if your partner is not willing. ACT is such a helpful approach.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2012
This is by far the best book on relationships I have read. It is practical but also extremely moving and powerful. I have explored a number of self-help books and ideas and those based on ACT are the first that have really helped me. Highly recommended, whatever your relationship situation, as the principles can be applied very broadly to how you can best approach your thoughts and feelings in general and free yourself up from destructive or unhelpful patterns.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2016
As a Clinical Psychologist, I've found this book useful for guiding couple's work - nothing particularly unexpected for those familiar with ACT, but a nice accessible guide for clients and therapists alike.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
... a book that lives in the real world!!

An amazing well of advise how to deal with unwanted feelings and thoughts by accepting them and at the same time trying
to detach from them by seeing them for what they are... just words!

Full of fantastic thoughts on how to live a healthy involved relationship, my bible from now on to which I will refer time and time again!!

If I was only allowed to buy one book this year this is what I would choose!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2011
a very good and easy to read book on having healthy relationships whether you are in a relationship or not. the emphasis on values and not goals was inspiring and making room for difficult feelings. Good to be reminded we all have difficult feelings and stepping back before reacting- all very useful.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
Along with Kelling's 'Blind Mazes' this book explains how l.o.v.e. gets d.r.a.i.n.e.d, but more importantly it also describes the steps needed to return to mutual loving. The steps are simple but by no means easy. They are skills that get more effective the more they are practiced. These skills are also useful in other contexts, as loving relationships form the basis for a happy life. I use ACT in my relationship coaching business as well as in my personal life.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
A bit of a mouthful but this therapy makes sense and works. Lots of practical steps to work through,ideas that really help.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2016
what a guy, I love you Russ thank you :)) a must for any couples therapist
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
Lovely book easy to read and understand
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)