Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
9

on 19 September 2013
This book is marvellous;
a book for it's time and place; wise, self-critical, use of the language borrowed from the Cohen's classic film unprecedented, funny, clever, thorough, witty, God damn witty; read-it-again- I -certainly-shall kind of a book. I have read few books in relation to The Big Lebowski but this one stands out as the very best. Top shelf, man. My only concern would be for the readers who grab it but are not familiar with the film. I may seem too esoteric to them. So watch it beforehand and enjoy this true gem then. I hope this book will find many keen readers in years to come, its wisdom is kind of urgent to assimilate for this crooked world we live in. Hurry up to take it easy, man!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 February 2018
If you're a Dudeist then this is the book for you. Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2017
Cool introductory guide for anyone wishing to be Dude-like
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 April 2015
Great fun for Lebowski fans and those who are fond of a laissez-fair attitude to life!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2015
love it great read and delivered bang on the day they stated
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2016
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 November 2014
Cool
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 January 2012
You need to be a certain kind of individual to appreciate this guide. A good start, well probably essential, is to watch "The Big Lebowski."

Having done that, preferably a few times, you'll start to get the hang of what this book is trying to say.

If you enjoy a chill, a white russian, and just generally lazing, this is for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2011
As an active member of the Dudeist community I've been waiting a while for this book to be finished and released. I was a little apprehensive before reading it, not knowing what the balance between The Big Lebowski (TBL) and non-Lebowskiian Dudeist concepts would lie within.

I was pleasantly surprised that there was a good mix, and the concepts as presented within about TBL are actually quite insightful and aren't bandied about too much for no good reason.

The first part of the book is a wonderful deconstruction of TBL shedding light on some concepts I'd never dwelled on myself, giving me a few new things to mull over and maybe an extra life lesson or two to take away, as well as some new insights into society as a whole.

The second part take a look at a more broader part of Dudeism, encompassing many things from history and modern society that help tie Dudeism together so nicely with our core ethos. Merging parts of other religions and philosophies with social movements and people who exemplify different aspects of what we're all about it goes some way to moving Dudeism away from seeming like just some "movie cult" as it can often be perceived.

The third and final part looks at you, the reader, and how you yourself can learn to take it easier and truly abide with yourself and the world around you. This is really the true "guide to abiding" of The Abide Guide. With a little help from some other key figures in the Dudeist movement the authors explore how to attune yourself to the nature of your inner Dude in a near-parody of a self-help guide.

I certainly enjoyed it a lot, and look forward to further books on the subject that help to further flesh out what's been started here. An all-round great introduction to Dudeism and becoming more Dude.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)