Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
32
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 February 2000
Nothing but solid, very clear information on every conceivable attack, parry, lock and block possible with a stick, for the reader to digest and practice. If you're interested in this tyoe of self defence, then it is a very good resource.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 1998
Best book on stick fighting that I have in my library. I haven't seen a better book yet which covers this topic. Get the book, you won't be sorry.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2011
If you are used to the western styles of stick fighting such as Vigny's la Canne, Barton Wright's Bartitsu or other such works, and want something similar, then this is probably not for you. If you are a student of the Eastern tradition of using a stick then this might be useful, but if you are looking for a quick, easy to understand and practical guide to using a stick for self defence, there are better books out there.
33 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2007
I found this to be an excellent text for a refreasher or learning the use of the Jo. The pictures are excellent and with a good training partner you can get most of the basics down. Of course nothing can replace an instructor...but this is a good aid.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
I chose this book due to practical interest. I was so impressed with content of this book! I would say this book structure, content follows tradition: less talking - more action. Long speeches, tales just spoil idea that carry particular technique. This book is made in this manner.
Don't hesitate and buy this book. There are techniques with Jo and even shorter staff. There are basic movements at the beginning of this book with very practical and logical advices how to built your training. Going further there are more difficult techniques available. You'll find tips on particular technique how to act differently and still effectively. I do not regret I bought this book.
I received this book much earlier I expected to. Service is just perfect.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2012
This was a very well written book which was easy to follow. Because these techniques are based on a Han bo they can also be applied to a walking stick.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2001
With no stick fighting techniques still renaining in the west we must turn to the east, and who better to learn stick fighting techniques from than the only surviving Ninja grand master.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2000
This book is a must buy if you have any interest in the self defense applications of stick fighting. I have done some basic cosh defenses before, and I wish there had been a book like this available while I was learning that. The layout of the pages is excellent, with the pictures arranged in the direction of motion, rather than in chronological order, giving beautiful sweeping arcs across the page and making the movements come to life. The quality of the pictures included is also top notch. Just buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2010
This book is well worth every penny, 5 stars just isnt enough its well written and fully illustrated, get it learn the Hanbo and thrash any would be attacker (with or without a Bo)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2000
When you consider that in this modern society a stick is the only self defence aid that you can legally carry, then this book and the techniques it contains are a must.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)