Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
63
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 31 January 2012
This book is a really good read for anyone who does martial arts or studies japan in any way. i found it very interesting. I do however have concerns that it isnt 100% accurate in translation and you sometimes need to read a part twice.

All in all a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
If you want to understand the origins of traditional Shotokan karate, this is the right book. Also, it transmits some of the atmosphere of early 20th century Japan and makes you understand better why karate is not merely a sport, but a way of life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2015
A must read for anyone considering or currently studying the art of Karate. Learn of its history, and spread throughout Japan and the rest of the world through the eyes of the master who worked tirelessly to make it popular.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2002
If you study Shotokan Karate, this is definatly a must have. It would also be a good resource for any Karateka, as Master Funakoshi is the father of modern day Karate which consists of may styles that people all over the world now learn.
In it, Master Funakoshi recalls all the important elements of his life from how and why he began studying Karate, to how he ended up spreading Karate around the world, and making more then his wieldest dreams come true. This really is a must have book for any serious Karateka (Karate Student) to have. There are also a few very good lessons to be learnt from this book that will prove to help any Karateka in the ways of the Empty Hand, and life.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
Extremely interesting, brilliant buy. Would recommend this book to anyone with an interest in martial arts. Arrived within days and in "good as new" condition even though I only paid for a "used" copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2011
A great little read about an inspiring man. The words of Gichin Funakoshi describe an attitude and life code that we can all afford to live by or even partially absorb regardless of whether you practice a martial art.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
This book is a must for anyone passionate about Shotokan Karate! The master of Shotokan tells his story with enthusiasm and takes you back to the days before Karate was practiced openly and globally. Great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2010
i started reading this book on here when you look inside the book but when it ended i thought wow i
have to get this book and ordered it then. Its a great read and personally i think a great find on my behalf
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
Not the best translation of this book. The book it self is well written and must be read by any serious karateka, regardless of system. But get he older translation, a lot has been lost in this translation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2011
Brilliantly written and a wonderful insight into Funakoshi Sensei's life.

Started reading and could not put it down, dozens of fantastic stories and tales from the great man himself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)