Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 August 2013
This is an excellent book full of traditional recipes from a variety of Asian cuisines. If you follow the recipes, the food will turn out as expected.

There are several reviews on here that say that some ingredients are 'hard to source'. I'm not saying you'll find everything in your local small supermarket, but virtually any ingredient is available with a little effort these days. It all depends upon how serious you are about trying to discover food worth cooking and eating. Some people just like something to moan about - be positive and go find things!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
I've had this book for a number of years and made many things from the various chapters - everything has been delicious. I can particularly recommend the coconut-lemongrass rice with mounds of fresh herbs and crispy onions pieces. I have a lot of cook books. Most of them I use a few times, get the hang of a couple of dishes and thereafter just make my own versions of them. This book I get out and use regularly. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2009
lovely lovely book,have made several dishes already,all really tasty and authentic,better than any take away and as good as food on holiday in india,photographs inspiring too,so pleased i have bought it,far superior in my opinion to the spicy vegan.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
A very unique book and the recipes are great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
I really like this book after seeing it in a cafe in Tokyo called Brown Rice...... in hard cover...... found it very hard to stop reading inbetween eating
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2010
I had brought this book to get ideas and find some recipes that I can make for the whole family without having to cook two different things because of my little one who has some food allergies and intolerances. The objective of buying this book was therefore a) to ensure that my little one did not feel left out from what the rest of the family were eating, b) ensure that the family were eating more vegetables c) get varied recipes that would be tasty, look good and be nourishing.

I have to admit that this book does tick all of my objectives and therefore I have rated it 5 stars. As this book does have copious recipes from nine Asian countries that will definitely keep you busy in the kitchen cooking authentic dishes that are wholesome, tasty and healthy. With recipes such as these I believe that it is easy to be a vegetarian, vegan or to ensure that you consume more vegetables without it being a chore.

For instance;
India - Chickpea curry, Parsee Lentil and vegetable curry, Stuffed eggplant, squash and potato curry, Biryani, Stuffed potato cakes, vegetable fritters
Japan - Miso soup with tofu and wakame, Tofu teriyaki with sautéed asparagus and mushrooms, Simmered mixed vegetables, Stir-fried eggplant and green peppers, vegetable pancakes
China - Crispy noodle salad, Sour and spicy soup, eggplant in chilli garlic sauce, Lettuce wrap with spicy lotus root, Szechuan asparagus, baby corn, water chestnuts and eggplants, Stir-fried noodles with vegetables
Thailand - Green mango salad, Hot and sour mushroom soup, Asparagus, baby corn, pepper and tofu satay, Drunkard's noodles, Gold bags
Vietnam - Asparagus soup, Pancakes rolled with vegetables, Vietnamese friend rice, and Mushroom balls with plum sauce
Burma - Spicy Coconut and vegetable soup, Curry with split pea fritters, Oriental vegetable crepes, Deep fried vegetables in batter
Indonesia - Vegetable soup from Jakarta, Spicy fried Tempeh, Indonesian fried rice, Tofu satay, and Yellow rice
Malaysia -Fragrant lemongrass rice, Curry puffs, Penang Noodles with Sour Soup, Noodles in Spicy Coconut Soup
Korea - Mushroom Soup, Stuffed eggplant chorim, Cabbage radish kimchi, Potato and onion pancakes, Korean wontons, Kimchi rice

However, the drawback about this book is that it does not have that many photographs of the dishes only a few that are inserted in the middle of the book.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2008
This is a wonderful book for fans of Asian food whether vegan or not. I love having 9 areas of Asia covered in one book. The recipes are well laid out and very easy to follow and most of the ingredients are already in the store cupboard of those of us who cook Asian food regularly so there's no need for lengthy shopping lists - you can just pick up the book and start cooking. Lots of the recipes are pretty quick to cook too which makes it great to use after a day at work.
I've only had this book a couple of weeks and I've already tried 8 recipes and they've all been excellent - especially the Split Pea Fritter Curry - love it!
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
had high hopes for this book but was really disappointed. didnt feel any dishes looked/sounded appetizing enough to cook so havent made a single one. doesnt seem very authentic either. maybe im judging a bit harshly though because asian veggie cooking is my 'thing'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
Good recipe book, only one downside that there is no pictures. Looks slightly boring...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2012
A brilliant idea, with a wide range of recipes designed for Vegans which means that I can continue to eat my favourite spicy foods. However, the downfall is that some of the ingredients required are very difficult to obtain so I am unable to try all of the recipes listed.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)