Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
47
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 March 2011
I'm so happy this book has finally been translated to English and made available over here, because I was very tempted about a year ago to buy it printed in Japanese from Hong Kong which would have cost me a small fortune.

There are patterns for 86 very cute and unique toys and accessories in total, all to be made from felt. All but one of the patterns are printed to scale which means you don't have to go searching for a photocopier / scanner before you can get started, you can trace the patterns straight from the book. I was slightly wary at first because all of the toys are to be made in 3D rather than just flat, with a front and a back but the illustrated instructions are VERY clear and easy to follow - I've made over half of them already and they make really cute gifts, many of the smaller ones can easily be adapted to make keyrings :D some of the toys include reindeers, cats, bunnies, bears, a monkey, elephants, a koala, and the accessories include bags, phone holders, coin purses, felt flowers and a pencil case. All you should need to get started is some sheets of felt in various colours, a needle and cotton, and some plain paper to trace the patterns. The book suggests using glue to attach facial features but I found it just as easy to stitch them on :)
11 comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2011
If the front cover doesn't inspire you, then nothing will!
Inside this book are a great number (86, according to the cover) of unbelievavbly cute soft toys and small accessories, all made entirely out of felt (a great medium to use, as it does not fray, and is widely availiable in loads of bright colours). I have had this book about a month now, and have made nearly half of the toys inside! Every time I make one, I want to make another one, as they are all so lovely. You will find it difficult to choose which one you make first!
There are illustrated instructions for all projects, and these are all very easy to follow. None of the projects is particularly difficult, nor time consuming; even the most involved projects are only a couple of afterrnoon's work. Children would have fun making them, as well as big kids!
Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2011
This is absolutely adorable and very easy to follow. The plushies have all been photographed in brilliant set-ups with lots of attention to detail. Get sewing, plushie fans!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2011
This book is very charming and you will want to make everything from it. The patterns of the animals I have made so far have been excellent. The photos and text are lovely and my children just like to look at the book. The instructions also provide some sketches so easy to follow. You need to work carefully to achieve the results in the book but they are very achievable. Ok for children to make who have neat stitching skills and can cut accuratly. I am looking forward to making more from this book - highly recommnended .
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2011
Felt Friends from Japan is a book of felt crafts inspired by Japanese design. The designs are incredibly cute and typically Japanese. There is a section of toy animals which would be much appreciated by both children and adults. There are some bags and mobile phone cases which were a bit too over the top and girly for my liking (definitely one for the little girls, rather than us big girls!). There are some animal purses which would make perfect little stocking fillers. My favourite designs were the badges and felt flowers as they are cute and quirky, but also very wearable. This book is beautifully designed. The photos are large and in glorious colour. There is a large section of pattern templates and excellent instructions. Most of the instructions are done in the form of diagrams. I am generally useless at following instructions in craft books, but I actually found these projects really easy to follow. I highly recommend this book.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
I am disabled & my hands are nowhere near as dextrous as they used to be. The patterns in this book are beautifully designed & simply constructed. If you have never made anything in your life, or if you are a more experienced toy maker, Naomi Tabatha's wonderful patterns will bring a smile and are a joy to make.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2012
This book is filled with so many adorable animals and characters which may not look it but are so simple to create! The instructions are very clear to follow and the finished product looks very professional. Highly reccomended to any keen sewers whether you are a beginner or experienced, a must have!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
I was really keen to buy this book but have to say I am quite disappointed with it. The instructions are not at all clear and I don't like the way in which the patterns are presented either - they have been stacked on top of each other making them quite hard to read. The author has not give very clear instructions and even as an experienced handstitcher I found it fairly difficult. I would not recommend this book to novice stitchers and would have to say that there are better books out there on the market than this one. Such a shame as the projects are cute.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
The characters in here are 'super-cute'.. the patterns are more fiddly to make (have to cut out more pieces of felt) than other books I own (am very much a novice) and also some have a 'more 3D' element to the characters before constructing, so haven't actually made any yet from here... but liked the book and am sure I will get around to attempting to make some in the future!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2012
lovely little book with very cute designs and easy to follow instructions. Will have lots of fun making these for selling at fundraisers.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse