Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
15
4.9 out of 5 stars
Watertower
Format: Paperback|Change

on 13 March 2017
Great, spooky book with fantastic illustrations
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2001
The watertower is a book filled with mystery and suspense. The text is gripping and the illustrations are superb. The story focuses around two boys who use an old watertower as a place to swim in and escape the sizzling heat of the Australian summer. One boy is left alone on the watertower and he see's something, but we do not know what it is! The reader is allowed to use their imagination to the full with this story. The book is printed on black paper and the text is printed in such a way that the book must be turned slowly around as it is read, just as in the book "the water eddied and flowed". The Watertower appears somewhere on each page, sometimes in full and at other times just as a motif on a townsperson's hat. Gary Crew is able to spark the imaginations of children with this story and the ending leaves them wondering what happens next! I would heartily recommend this book to children of about 8 years and upwards.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2004
Have just finished reading this book with my Year 6 class, who were absolutely thrilled with the suspense element! Really like the fact that this has such great artwork and allows the reader to develop their own imaginative power!
A recommended reading experience for any primary teacher with a class needing inspiration!!!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2006
This book has been a real treat for the reluctant readers I teach. The text is simple and the boys love reading the subtle illustrations even more, finding themselves drawn into the details and hints littered through the story. Truly chilling and truly great.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
My son asked me to buy this as they have been reading it in school. He loves it, he reads it again and again trying to look into what happened and why? The book can take you only around 2-3 mins to read, but he sees so much in it. Year 6, age 11.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2017
Excellent service, book delivered before expected date. Very pleased. My Year 6 class are loving the work we are doing on character descriptions with this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2013
Fabulous book. Used as a text in literacy lessons for year 5. Children absolutely loved it, particularly the boys. Inspired some super writing .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
An unusual but intriguing picture book for older kids. Plenty of mystery to discover within the story and images. Sinister and with a twist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2015
Good book, got to help as resource for my job
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2016
Fantastic book, but fairly slow delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

The Island
£11.68

Need customer service? Click here