Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 July 2017
As advertised. Great purchase! Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2008
Most C beginner books teach you how to write C, this book teaches you how to write GOOD C. It teaches you all the tips and tricks that will save you time and stop you messing up in the future. It goes through step by step with little quizzes and exercises at the end of each chapter and it is a pleasure to read.
A must for any wannabe GOOD C programmer and then after reading all of this book and trying all the exercises I recommend you move onto a more advanced C book "The C programming Language" by Brian Kernighan and Dennis Ritchie.
Nobody is a better authority on C than Ritchie seen as he created the C language and he will teach you even more about C but "The C Programming language" is NOT designed for beginners so purchase Practical C, read it, then get "The C programming language"
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2003
This is an OK introduction to the C programming language but you can do much better.
It never really gets much beyond the basics, although there's some goodish material on coding linked lists and binary trees and suchlike. The best aspect is that it teaches good programming discipline and good coding style. The worst aspect is that it is badly out of date. This 3rd edition was published in 1997. Had it been up to date for 1997 it would still be useful, but it wasn't. An early chapter on IDEs discusses Turbo C++ and Visual C++ 1.0. Were you still using those in 1997? In a brief section on bitmapped graphics, I was shocked to read the following sentence: "More and more computers now have graphics. For the PC, there are graphics devices like EGA and VGA cards...". Really? EGA cards?
Yes, this book, like C, dates from ancient times when the mouse hadn't been invented, output devices were line-oriented and the graphical user interface a distant dream. Every programmer had to roll his own linked list and do his own memory management.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2000
The book is an extremely well written book about C. It teaches C in a very structured way that allows everyone to begin to understand the C programming language and its history. I learnt more about C from this book in a few hours than I had done from my entire reading experiance from other books.
All good C programmers know that becoming an adept user of C comes from experiance. This book gives you the knowlegde to start your learning curve and acts as a handy easy-to-use reference when writing code.
Beginners: Drop all other C books... buy this one.
When you have finnished reading this book... you will be well on your way. Then its just a question of practise makes perfect.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2002
Good entry book to the language, teaches you basic programming style and how to start writing good C code.
You'll find yourself jumping back to the book as you write your first clusters of programs.
Later on, the book seems to bring you into advanced basic C programming if such a phrase makes sense..
I recommend that a C bible or reference book that is around the intermediate level is bought too.. you'll find yourself wanting to know more about whats available in C as you complete this book.
Overall, a good buy. OS independent on the whole. Dont buy this book if you're a beginner but want to integrate what you do into a Windows programming.. but buy this first before jumping into GUI programming anyway.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2011
I found this a really good introduction to C however I did find the setup section to be a little out of date (don't worry the rest is OK!). There are IDE's with screenshots from Windows for Workgroups 3.1 which whilst making me feel a little nostalgic didn't really help.

I hunted around for an IDE to use and settled on Code Blocks, an open source IDE that runs on Windows 7 which you can read more about at [...] . This worked well for me but I can't say it will for you, I just felt that it might save you some pain to know about it!

There are a couple of exercises that I found irritating as they were too vague and skipped them and it was a shame that there are no answers to the excercises and the code isn't available on the O'Reilly FTP server. Whilst this is a pity, it's not the end of the world - I don't think I've ever read a technical book without googling odds & sods whilst reading!

That being said a good introduction to C which starts you off by promoting good habits. I only wish I'd bought this book first...

Good luck!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 1999
Though this books starts out very well, in stepwise fashion highlighting all the 'tool' needed to programme in C, it does dither later on. The section on pointers is one of many 'let downs'. I had lent the book to a few friends who also pointed out that the pointers was not 'described' as well as other books. I tend to lend and borrow books from friends and this was my first book on C. The response I got back from many was that this book did not clarify alot and it was riddled with alot of mistakes. The examples could be done as much as possible, but to make the book much better would be to encorporate the solutions at the back, as opposed to purchasing the book seperately. Nonetheless, the book is okay, but needs to address the fundamentals, like pointers for example, with a little more attention.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 December 2002
If there is not a cow on the cover of this book, you are reading the review for the wrong book. I bought this book for a C in UNIX class. The C part is great. There is hardly a page that does not have an example or enlightening diagram. However, the only reference to applying this to UNIX is in the back where it "Practically" says that there are different versions of UNIX. It never really clamed to be a UNIX book on C. The section on unbufferd I/O has a little more on the UNIX handling of files. Over all, until something better comes along I am still using this book.

The C Programming Language (2nd Edition)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 November 2003
...or even improve your basic C skills with!
Steve Oualline, in this book, sets out how to write in C in a precise, easy to use fashion - even if you know next to nothing about how to write software. It's suitable for both getting started with embedded C and for PC based software, is explained in a manner that is neither condesending nor too highbrow.
Styling is covered in a sensible way, explaining both how you should make code readable for other people, but also that there isn't only one style that is correct.
Right through from getting your first "Hello World" program, through arrays, structures and pointers, topics are covered in a way to get the programmer started and give enough knowledge to experiment and expand your knowledge. Pitfalls and common problems are regularly outlined. There's even a great little chapter called "C's dustier corners" that tells of some of the parts of C you should avoid!
I've yet to find a better book about how to program in C.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 1998
The author does an excellent job of introducing students to practical habits that will assist them in writing applications for the real world. His humorous approach keeps the book interesting, and he uses illustrations generously to explain the concepts being presented. He begins this excellent book by emphasizing the need for good documentation in programs, a feature that is missing in most other textbooks on the language. His approach helps to build good coding habits and style, not just syntax and mechanics of the language. This is an excellent addition to any C programmer's bookshelf, whether they are beginning to code with the language or have several years of experience with C.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse