Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
19
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 September 2014
An extremely moving account of people who had direct experience of the Chernobyl disaster. Some of the accounts are painful in the extreme and caused me to realise how the communities living in close proximity ( plus the wider world) were duped and lied to by the Russian government to an almost unbelievable level. The legacy of Chernobyl has stretched down through time and generations and it's effects will be present for a period of time that it is not possible to predict. A sobering but compulsive read.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
Really great book which gives a personal feel of how people who were involved in the disaster through being a "Liquidator" (member of the clean up crew), wife of one of the fireman first to arrive at the accident or a relative of a worker at Chernobyl. The book is made up of accounts/interviews with these people and gives you their side of the story and how they were affected by Chernobyl. As we learned about what actually happened with Chernobyl in class I decided to purchase this book to see what effects it had on the public and I was not disappointed. The confusion and sheer disbelief of the public makes for a truly sad and horrifying account and gives the reader a true insight to how they felt.

A great book to hear how people actually felt and coped with the disaster, with really strong and sad accounts.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
Bought this to aid my interest in the subject. Its a gripping book but be warned, its not for the faint hearted. Many of the pages contain text that descibes events we in the West would hardly believe possible. Provides very much person accounts from people who were either there or drafted in to help try and clear up the mess.

Can only give it a 5 star review as it won't be a book you will easily forget.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
A highly recommended read for those who know or want to know more about the worst nuclear accident in history, especially from those closely involved either. The insightful accounts give this book a great deal of credibility and expose the reader to the Soviet Union , Ukraine, Russia and Belarus in an intimate way. Like the voices in the books The Union Moujik, The Master and the Margarita, the people in this book come alive with alacrity.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
I read this first from the library and found it to be an extremely well written account of the Chernobyl disaster, as told by the people who lived through it. The love and grief of the wife of the firefighter who was a first responder is the most striking chapter of the book, although all are very moving in their own way. This is how I prefer to read of historical events - through the words of people who actually experienced them and can give a true account of the impact of these events on their own lives.

I am happy to see that the author won the Nobel Peace Prize and hope to see her work available for kindle (pure selfishness, as I'm getting one for Christmas!) but for the meantime I'll have to make do with my paperback. The author certainly deserved this prize and I look forward to reading more of her work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2011
i'm researching chernobyl for my masters dissertation and amongst all the books that deal with the political, ecological and factual sides of things, one that truly focusses on the human experience is much appreciated. i will warn you, this book isn't for the faint of heart, i covered my mouth and felt short of breath, slightly nausious on a few occasions. the writing is excellent throughout, never becoming over-wrought or, 'over-written' if you know what i mean. the voices that form this oral history always seem genuine. i can't recommend it enough.
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2015
Like most people I had never heard of this book or writer before the Nobel Prize. I am really glad I took the trouble to look for it. I find it childlike, restrained in the face of horror, and deeply moving. Always in mind is the tedious tradition of Soviet writing of the period, from which Alexievich emerges like a fountain of fresh water from a polluted industrial swamp.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
It was great to read the story of Chernobyl because I could have an opinion how the situation was and how the life of the people was and is there. But because the stories were very touching it is book which I wont read ever again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2015
One of the best books that I've ever read...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 October 2010
'Voices from Chernobyl' is one of those books which delves deeper into the world's worst nuclear disaster, foregoing the dry facts of what happened and instead telling the stories of those who went through the disaster and it's aftermath. A truly haunting book, it's as much a statement on the Communist system of the time as it is a reflection of mankind's ability to occasionally fail to control the technology it so craves. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)