Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 May 2004
This volume of the PREACHER saga is where the REAL fun begins for me! In the second half of this book, creators Garth Ennis & Steve Dillon intro my fave character: Herr Starr, the head enforcer of the world's most powerful covert organization! I consider him the most interesting and colorful 'heavy' ever to hit the four-color medium! His no-nonsense attitude and blunt & acerbic words as he tries to track down Reverend Custer make for some of the funniest moments in comics! His penchant for unbelievable misfortune also begins here: in this volume he loses an ear in a firefight at a high-society orgy, and involuntarily experiences the- um, joy- of the love that dare not speak its name for the first time! The loss of one's body parts & dignity doesn't get much weirder (or funnier) than this!
But, let's not forget the first half of this illustrated tome, where we get an inside look at the Rev's past, from his being raised by a ruthless and sadistic 'family' to his eventual breakout from this nighmarish clan. Then there's the capture of the Irish vampire Cassidy by Starr & his mercs, which sets up the events chronicled in the next volume of the PREACHER TPB series. Yep, it's kinda like 'The Empire Strikes Back' of comics: a really compelling and wonderful adventure that alla sudden leaves you hangin'! But, unlike 'Empire', it has lots more naughty language, gory ultraviolence, naughty bits, and substance abuse. And it's not based in outer space, or 'a long time ago'. And the main hero's a bit tougher than that teenaged blond kid from that desert planet. Come to think of it, there really aren't that many similarities 'Preacher Vol 2' and ESB, are there...?
Anyway, time for me to fall back to Earth. If you've already read the first PREACHER TPB (if ya haven't, it's available at www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/1852867132/qid=1084205556/sr=1-1/ref=sr_1_2_1/026-1744450-1571658) and you feel like continuing the adventure, then I'm pretty sure you won't be disappointed with this installment. It's got everything you've come to expect from the previous book, and then some!
'Late
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
This issue was so much better than Volume 1. Things were a lot clearer and I'm getting used to the art too. I love how dark this volume got.

The volume was split into two different storylines. The first story introduced us to some characters from Jessie's past and it gave us some backstory, answering questions like why is Jesse a preacher? What was his life before we met him in Volume 1? How did he meet Tulip? Why did he leave her? etc. I really enjoyed the first half of this volume. I didn't enjoy the second story as much but I still liked it. The second half introduced us to a group of religious people called the grail and they want Jesse, it also introduces us to some other characters but I can't remember their names. Tulip was also a lot less annoying in this volume, I actually started to like her and I hope she continues to be awesome and not whiny!

I would recommend this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
Jesse and Tulip are caught and dragged back to Jesse’s nightmarish childhood home, Angelville, in backwoods Louisiana. Meanwhile, the mysterious Grail organisation is out to hunt down Jesse for their own sick plans of Armageddon.

The second Preacher volume is a step up from the underwhelming first one but it still feels like the young Garth Ennis is still finding his sea legs. The title story is roughly half the book but it’s really tough to get through. Jesse’s Gran’ma and her cadre of sadistic hillbillies do so many awful things that it feels like you’re reading torture porn, or watching one of those Saw movies. Good people are murdered, children are tortured, and all in name of Christianity - or at least their warped version of it.

It’s this story where I noticed a familiar formula being created - Ennis would go on to write The Punisher MAX (arguably his greatest work yet) which would play out like this in every volume: bad people do bad things for 80% of the story, then Frank shows up and does his angel of death routine for the final 20%.

That’s basically what happens in Until the End of the World (a phrase which gets overly stated by Jesse to the point of cheesiness), as Ennis takes away Jesse’s voice of God power until the last possible moment and then lets him wreak righteous vengeance. It’s difficult to read up until that point and then it’s totally compelling.

The second half sees Jesse and Tulip reunite with Cassidy in San Francisco as the trio take on The Grail, where Ennis switches gears from pure sadism to his off-colour brand of comedy (ie. tough guy characters being sodomised, etc). It’s kinda funny, I guess, but, mixed in with a lot of serious issues, it can feel a tad bitter. And I thought the Sexual Investigators as a comedy gimmick were really underdeveloped too - they were basically one-note idiots and they could’ve been much funnier.

If you’re a Punisher/Ennis fan like me, you’ll also notice prototype characters in this book who’ll appear in The Punisher MAX. Gran’ma is basically Ma Gnucci while Hoover is Soap from Welcome Back, Frank. It’s interesting seeing their genesis.

Steve Dillon’s art is as great as ever and Glenn Fabry’s covers are just amazing. Both artists have been the strongest parts of Preacher so far, at least for me, while Ennis’ writing has been about average.

Preacher, Volume 2: Until the End of the World felt overlong for the most part. Jesse and Tulip’s ordeal at Gran’ma’s place just dragged on and on while the Grail storyline moved a bit more quickly but still felt like a lead-up to a better storyline. The series feels like it’s starting to get going at long last so hopefully from here on out the disappointing first couple volumes will pay off into much better comics.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
The book itself is awesom, but for some reason this copy has half of the first volume in it... don't know whats going on with that? Has it been re-printed and I've got it at different times or something... who knows. Disapointed though thought I was gonna have a help of a lot more to read then I did.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2012
Dark, twisted, disturbing.

Three words that are synonymous with the Preacher series. And this volume is no exception.

New characters, new locations, blistering new story arc which sores of the page.

Just have the third volume ''Proud Americans'' on order as you'll finish ''UTTOFW'' in a night.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
Love this story cant believe it's not a HBO epic tv series! Sort of glad its not! Hints of Texas chainsaw mixed with Deliverance/Misery in this one!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2009
This second volume in the "Preacher" collection was a fairly big let down for me. I'd come fresh from the joys of the first volume and expected the same quality as before.

The wonderful artwork and pacing of story is clearly as well defined here as it was before, and is a consistent joy to behold when reading the work of Ennis and Dillon, but I found the story in this second volume quite lacking. The plot surrounding Jesse's Grandma, though inventive at times, is lacking any real sense of danger. The backstory regarding his mother and father is an insightful look into the character we know and love from the first volume, but clichéd to the point of ridiculousness. It's easy to love the over-the-top nature of "Preacher" but the conclusion to the first half of this part is ludicrous to the point of making fun of itself.

It's clear that the ommision of Cass was a major failing point for this half of the volume. The predicable nature of the plot throughout this section is made all the more stale by the lack of his exceptional wit and sense of humour. When he makes his way back into the story in the second half, the entertainment value jumps considerably, quite instantly.

But the second half of the story is even less appealing to me. The character of Jésus DeSade is one of those cleverly crafted hedonists. He's a character you really would love to punch in the face, and some of his lines are such obvious attempts at absurd shock tactics that once again the story feels like it's only there to make crude sexual references without any plot to back them up.

The introduction of Herr Starr is this volume's saving grace. His introduction is slow and steady, but he quickly becomes a dominating figure in the story and leaves the ending of this volume as a high point, leaving you wanting more. It's just a shame that it took so long to get the quality back up.

As a big fan of the first volume, I found this one to be a big disappointment, but I persevered with it and it's quite worth it for the last section and for the wealth of treasures ahead in the next volume. It's a low point for the series, but it's still "Preacher" at the end of the day.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
This Volume is where the series really kicks of great writing and storytelling, great characters and great art work. Loved it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
The Preacher story is wicked. Great drawings too! This and The Punisher comics are my favourite. Book was in fine condition.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2016
I read this over 10 years ago and to this day nothing has ever come close. The story line with Jessie's dad is so powerful it made me weak with emotion for weeks. Get read it, love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse