Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
19
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 January 2006
I found this book very informative and will be sharing this book with my apprentices to teach them from basics to advanced roofing. Yes it is in imperial but if you look on the other half of your tape measure there it is. feet and inches. I think it's important for people to learn imperial as well as metric because not everybody uses metric. Ok most people do in England but you are bound to encounter it at some stage. Very good book
Carpentry Contractor
Somerset
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2009
There is a school of thought especially among tradesmen that " it's my way or the highway ". This annoys me and what annoys me more is that two reviewers have given this book a one star rating because the measurements are imperial. If the whingers were really worth their salt the measurements wouldn't be an issue ! And now to the book.

I thought this to be a pretty good reference book and for apprentices this would be invaluable. The methods used are very well explained and clearly shown through high quality photographs and drawings. All the basics of roof work are covered from setting out roofs and cutting the rafters to the framing of eyebrow,bay and dormers. There's also a section on trusses which I found excellent. It's well worth a look if you find the basics of roof construction hard to grasp.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
I am a totally novice wannabe self-builder, did not have the slightest clue about roofs.

A bit of a DIY skill and willingness to learn is all what is necessary to read and understand this book. This book is an US book and might not be the very latest one, but it teaches you the basics which are also relevant in the UK, easy to understand, and after reading it I now understand what are the basic differences between roof types and what kind of roof should I have and I also have a basic understanding of the process of putting up a roof.

I would recommend this book to a total novice wannabe builder who wants to understand roofing a bit better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2016
What does cheese say to itself in the mirror? Halloumi.
What cheese do you use to coax a bear out of the woods with? Camembert.
What cheese can you disguise a small horse with? Mascapone.
What do you call cheese that isn’t yours? Nacho cheese. (one of many variants on the Nacho cheese joke)
What type of cheese is made backwards? Edam.
How do you handle dangerous cheese? Caerphilly.
What’s a Pirates favourite cheese? Chedd-AAR.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2005
Oh dear, it's a US book, all written in Imperial dimensions, does not even use angles in degrees! The good thing was it forced me to think the whole thing through from first principles, and I made a nice little spreadsheet which does all the dimensions for common rafters, only got 1 jack at each end, so will do that with a peice of string!
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2010
A must buy if you intend building, designing or modifying a roof. Lots of friends have borrowed this book and all have wanted to keep it, but they can';t 'cos it's mine! I think it is a great and very helpful book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2010
Many Thanks. Great book. When and, what ever I need, just I am used to go exploring on line shopping at Amazon web site. No rush, no crowd, just from home, even from the relaxing bed. Easy and wise. Great choice for everyone. Erwin
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
this was purchased for my son who is a carpenter and wanted it for to keep just as a reference book so he can look back on anything that has slipped his mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
It would have received a higher grading if it would included info regarding markets that do not supply the facilities offered in usa
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
very pleased with book. wanted a book for detail and good description and this a good one. reasonable price aswell
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)