Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now



on 13 January 2006
This book thoroughly covers the subject and now introduces the latest automated taping equipment available. Whilst this is an American publication all the Drywall application in the UK uses American/Canadian equipment and even tapes. Great finishes are possible with the simplest of equipment though and it should be borne in mind that the end result is dependent on the quality of the original boarding/sheeting job. It is entirely possible and indeed desireable that the finish matches that of the plasterer, provided the speed at reaching that finish is greater then the decision to use this technique has been justified. Still trying to catch on in the UK this book will thoroughly convert any Drywall sceptics.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2009
I'm a moderately competent DIYer - who has managed to get through life without getting directly involved with plasterboard and 'drywall'.

Bought this book as we moved to a house built using drywall - and wanted to know how it 'works'.

Although written by an American writer - everything is clear and simply explained.

In fact I found the book strangely addictive - and very informative.

Sections on different types of drywall, their applications and the best techniques to use.

Takes the fear out of using drywall for novices - but also helps understand what a professional is doing - if you choose to 'get someone in' to do the job.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2010
I found this book very informative: well laid out with lots of helpful tips to achieve a professional finish. I dip into it for advice as and when I need to as everything is well laid out for referencing, although it also would be an interesting read for anyone wanting a comprehensive overview. Well worth the money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
I found this book fairly useful for understanding the basic principals of drywalling like the Americans do it. I used this to find out how to board and joint fill a ceiling... after this I went on a 2 day plastering course and skimmed my other ceilings. I would say, from experience that I found it easier and quicker to skim than to joint, it's all the sanding and then here in the UK we don't have much choice in products for jointing and finally painting is much easier over a skim as I got really bad photographing on the jointed ceiling - which again is probably because here in the UK our primer paints aren't usually used on jointed surfaces.
The book itself is a good resource, but as usual it's no where near as useful as someone showing you how to do it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2010
Read it, read it then read it again before you start. This was a godsend for learning how to get a smooth join in tapered plasterboard.He's also online but allow yourself 10 x as long as he does it!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
I am a complete beginner with drywall techniques. This book explains the technique from fundamental knowledge to practical work. It is not a full bible but I would certainly recommend it to all those wanting to learn from beginning to intermediate levels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
A clear and very informative book which is clearly illustrated, which makes the job a lot less daunting. an excellent purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
The book is okay but doesn't really go into the subect and i was disappointed wit it.would not recommend this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2016
Good information for an American diy-er. Less so for European methods.
Fast delivery. Clean book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2015
Good guide for DIYers. Spend the money on some decent tools from the start, tho. MW
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)