Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
9
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 December 2001
This classic comic book is a weird and deranged tale of conspiracy theories, sideshow freaks, pornography, and murderous religious cults, all told with a vein of dark and satirical humour. It was originally serialized in "Eightball" comic, and the author Daniel Clowes has got a lot of attention lately after the film adaptation of another Eightball strip "Ghost World" hit the screens. This earlier effort is even more cinematic. It's similar in tone to the films of David Lynch, particularly "Twin Peaks", which it actually pre-dates by a couple of years; and the title is a quote from the classic Russ Meyer film "Faster Pussycat Kill! Kill!", with which the book shares it's stark black and white visuals and a demented road trip storyline. This disturbing, but very funny book (and anything else by the idiosyncratic Clowes) is leagues ahead of anything in the comics canon, with the exception of the recently published "Jimmy Corrigan" by Chris Ware.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2009
If you've got all Clowes other works bar this one, you've missed out on his best, which this clearly is. Ghost World got filmed because it was filmable. This would need maybe David Lynch to do it justice. Is the end even filmable at all? Nah.

Who cares about films anyway. This is a great comic, and Daniel Clowes is hilarious. Get the Eightball anthology (if that's what it is) too if only for the Art School expose. Why he doesn't write more comics I don't know - maybe it's because he spends too long on them. Or he's a slow drawer.

There's also lots of sex in this comic, which reminded me of Crumb a lot. I wonder if Clowes feels influenced by R Crumb at all. I hope so.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2008
This is a work of twisted genius in which the protagonist is caught up in a grotesque & Kafkaesque world of snuff porno, hit men, cultists, deformities, mutilations, and the mysterious Mister Jones. It's like the kind of thing David Lynch would do if he were a cartoonist, & I think it could be made into an excellent movie. Expect some perturbing imagery, dark humour, and a rosy ending (sort of).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2002
This is the kind of comic that makes me genuinely afraid of people.Well, actually to be more specific and to quote Mr Bowie ... afraid of americans...because no matter how far out and twisted the characters and events may be ... i have an uneasy feeling that if you went a travelling and got lost in the woods some of these things could happen... somehow ... somewhere.
Strange doesnt even start to describe 'Like a Velvet Glove Cast in Iron' but: stunning, surreal and nightmarish is a beginning. Hilarious nuggets of black humour make the eerie journey even more engrossing and I have a feeling that a couple of those characters are gonna stay with me for quite a while. Clowes characterizations are amazing... he can make anyone look... well just alittle bit wrong, disturbed, inbred and goofy!I think Clowes is an artist everyone interested in comics and/or the bizarre just has to explore...go buy it... but just dont read it when you're eating... it leaves a funny taste in the mouth.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2016
I always like Clowes's stuff and often love it, but, though Ghost World and the recent Patience come very close, nothing touches this. It reads like some oneiric shaggy dog story, improvised out of fragments of nightmares, with no governing logic, but never taking a misstep.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2009
On first reading this is, as "world art" is quoted on the cover "incoherent but engrossing." After a couple of passes it isn't quite so incoherent- perhaps it sounds pretentious but I think it lampoons quite a few sacred cows and has a sly humour that keeps you interested.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
Absolutely wonderful... a bizarre head trip from start to finish. My favourite of all Clowes's work, and I love everything by him! Beautifully illustrated too. Couldn't recommend more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
Iv tried writing this mini opener so many times. I belive this edition has a better flow.

Eesha hooked her toes over the white cliff face. Its chalky surface leaving scratchy deposits between her toes. With the wind beating at her back it took every effort to remain balanced on the precipice. The harsh sunlight bleaching her vision, the wind tossing her thinning hair. It catching her bloodied shirt like a sail, with nearly enough force to push her over the edge. And in this moment she recounted all the things that the weather could be blamed for. So why not this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2003
... if you are interested in Daniel Clowes and american comics(other than the obvious marvel), but be warned: like most comics, it's all well drawn and interesting, but the story has its problems.
But its always better than Judge Dredd or Dan Dare.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£15.18
£14.94
£10.98
£21.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)