Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
9
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 September 2008
I read this book in order to be clearer about the subordination of women in Buddhism. The author gives insights into how this has come about and tells the forgotten stories of women who sought their own path and created lineages. I had never heard of the dakinis and have been inspired by this imagery which shows how to use all our emotions in forwarding our own powerful spiritual path.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2011
This is a book written by a practitioner with great insight into the Buddhist path. I find it very encouraging to be able to read the stories of women who have gone that way before us. So often history is written by men and women just get overlooked so it is very opportune that women are doing the research and bringing these amazing role models to the forefront.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2010
"Without stories a woman is lost when she comes to make important decisions in her life." We hear about the lives of Buddhist women from Tibet who did not fit in the pattern that was set for them, who in spite of all emerging difficulties searched for their very own path just as she herself, Tsultrim Allione. She shows us the "descent" of women who thus integrated their feminine potency and reemerged above patriarchal conceptions and social pressure in order to live the spiritual life they deeply felt in their heart. "We can learn the difference between being passively drawn into darkness, and voluntarily choosing an active entry into the veiled world." Buddhism, in different teachings, presents a fascinating link for Western women presenting "the emergence of female images which are sexual and spiritual, ecstatic and intelligent, wrathful and peaceful...We can...celebrate our womanhood." - "Women also need a spiritual path that speaks to our sense of ourselves biologically..." So it's up to us to choose, to walk, take our own steps just like them miles away, centuries ago, "...and through her experience she (Nangsa)gained the courage and confidence in herself to follow her heart."
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2016
I wanted to learn more about the lives of monks or nuns and Tibetan tradition. Due to the patriarchal times of the past there is very little written about women. Tsultrim Allione noticed this which brought about this book. She has researched Tibetan female mystics and written thier stories in this wonderful collection. I feel completely inspired by this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
This is a truly incredible book, sometimes sad, but mostly inspiring about the true power of Tibetan women within the culture and the Buddhist lineages....here you will find things you REALLY never realised and this shouls inspire all female practicioners today, as well as male!! Brilliantly researched too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
This is a well-written, engaging book. Tsultrim Allione is an inspiration to women practitioners of spiritual techniques. I recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
Very inspiring book, a very brave and wise woman
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)