Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 20 January 1999
Even though this book is about dream and sleep Yoga it contains one of the best - non-technical, non dogmatic explanations of karma I have ever read. It also has a great explanation of non-duality. The entire book is written in an exceptionally clear manner with wonderful explanations and a great glossary. I cannot recommend this book highly enough.
0Comment| 83 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2014
there's some really profound stuff in here

it might not open a closed mind, but an open mind will welcome it

it isn't perfect, but there are some things written on a few pages that people wouldn't learn in a lifetime, and are to be cherished. My favourite bit is where it speaks of trying to solve greed by consumption is like trying to cure thirst by drinking salt water

can you read that thought and not buy it?

(if anyone is interested, I am an atheist, and don't believe anything supernatural)
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2010
There are many books on dream yoga on the market. However, this one is the only one, that I know, that also deals with sleep yoga, the state of consciousness beyond dreaming.
Metaphysics is a difficult subject to write about. Tenzin Wangyal is to be congratulated in writing so clearly, originally and authentically. This is no dry book with only theories, but comes from a man who was born for the role. It carries many personal anecdotes to illustrate his eminently practical approach.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2014
For those who like to travel but can't afford it ,this is a fantastic book to understand that even the physical traveler doesn't go anywhere if their mind is a sedentary one!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 April 1999
Even for a seasoned lucid dreamer like myself, this book was highly useful in offering traditional Tibetan practices for lucid dream induction, as well as various suggestions for activities to attempt within a fully lucid dream. However, what is most amazing about this book is its instructions for abiding as the pure, empty Awareness (rigpa) that is our true Self. As a Zen Buddhist, I am quite familiar with maintaining this "mirror-mind," but I usually cannot maintain it for very long, and I've never held it past the dream stage, into deep dreamless sleep. The practices in this book are helping me to change all that. Maintaining meditation practice during sleep--literally 24 hours a day--accelerates things profoundly. When the gross, manifest world of spacetime has dissolved into the subtle realm of souls and dreaming, and when even that realm has dissolved into Emptiness, your truest self shines forth clearly as the one and only Mind behind all illusory manifestation. Truly, the awareness within you that is right now reading these words is the Buddha. Your true nature is absolutely vast, silent, empty, blissful, and timeless Consciousness as Such--the source and substance of all that seems to exist. When you become identified with this Consciousness, your true Self, and not merely with the deluded, individual mind (or ego), you find yourself in a state of constant consciousness--never blinking, never fading, 24 hours a day--remaining completely "awake" even during dreaming and deep sleep. You'll have discovered your true Home--the Home you've never left, the Home you couldn't possibly leave, but a Home that you refused to admit you were in while you suffered for lifetimes in this silly dream.
66 Comments| 145 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 July 2016
The clarity of information in this book is a joy to read, along with practical exercises that enhance waking and sleeping experience. I recommend this book as a tool for greater understanding of the self. Learning about where our emotional responses come from to manifest as karmic traces, so that situations will continue to manifest if not cleared was a gift that I am very grateful for.
This book works on a physical level with the breathing exercises; on a spiritual level by seeing through illusion, and on a mental level with the psychology of how the mind works.
If you want to get down and dirty with stripping away social conditioning and awaken from the dream, this glimmer of hope can be your handmaiden on a journey of delightful self discovery.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2014
Such clear explanations of the practices and of the philosophy and purpose behind them - very encouraging, reassurring and very very human.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2013
If you have an interest and an opportunity to get this then I can not recommend enough that you do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2016
still reading while immersed in other lucid dreaming books - this is excellent and I'll be coming back to many of these practices after coming back to my western mind with my reading for a couple of months :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2016
These are precious teachings for who is wishing to make significant progress in their spiritual practice. And Dream Yoga is a really powerful technique to achieve a... better lfie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse