Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
15
4.7 out of 5 stars

on 1 September 2016
Read this many years ago, and it stands up well. The descriptions of customs, costumes and places are vivid and instructive. A really good read for adults and teens.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2017
I loved this book. As soon as I'd finished it, it sent me scurrying for more Pearl S Buck's work
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Was pleased to see this available. Read it many years ago and it has been lovely to read again, Always enjoyed Pearl Buck
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
I enjoyed the descriptions of the Palaces and the way the Empess lived, a lovely read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2017
Really enjoyed it Wouldn't have thought it was written so long ago
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2015
Almost as good as her other Oriental books but I found the main character didn't engage me fully so that, although I read all of it, I didn't read with that intense curiosity and eagerness that marks a really good read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
Quite heavy-going to start with and lots of detail to process, but a thoroughly enjoyable read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
Brilliant - love and power- a spellbinding combination '
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
Very interestng story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
i last read pearl s.buck books over 40 years ago. i was delighted to find i could get them on amazon and sent away for my favourite
"imperial woman". i was half expecting to be a bit disappointed. but no, it was as interesting as i remembered and a real page turner.
i have read other books about this empress and this is definitely the best. a big thumbs up for this book. highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here