Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 October 2015
This book sparked off some interesting conversation between me and my foster child that we had never talked about. Very helpful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
Excellent, need more books for foster children
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2010
This is one of the best reading resources for fostered children that I have found. Children in care have so much uncertainty and so many complicated feelings around attachment, abandonment, conflicting hopes for the future, and this can contribute to difficult behaviours that make keeping a child in placement very difficult. This book has helped countless children I know understand their situation and used by sensitive carers and professionals who understand the child and their circumstances, this book is an invaluable tool. Recommend very highly.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
I really like this book, the pictures are child friendly, its quite long for little ones (I read it to my 6 year old foster child), but the message is lovely, it explains the idea of different reasons for being in care, different feelings and different outcomes, all in a way that makes it seem ok to be in any of the categories. Good way to explore their feelings and discuss the ideas it raises/help them make sense of their situation. It will be left 'lying' around so they can raise it again if they want to.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2014
What an amazing book. The child I gave it too loved it. It helped him make sense of a very scary world. 'That happened to me' as the picture and words described what a judge did. His sister loved it too and wrote a book report on it for her homework. Every child in foster care should be given this book!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2010
Apart from the slightly irritating Americanisms - "mom" etc. (isn't anyone this side of the Atlantic interested in writing books for fostered children? Or is it that British publishers aren't interested?), this is an excellent book. The 4 year old we are fostering went back to it several times, and we often use the term "maybe day" when she asks what is happening today - ie, will there be contact? It is not specific to one reason why a child might be in foster care, and stresses that all the people involved care about what is best for the child, but that her job is to just get on with being a child. I've recommended it to our social worker, and the department has now been bought 3 copies. Very helpful.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
Was looking for story books to use with a young foster child. This was obviously American and not really what I was wanting for this child.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2011
Bought as a foster carer for foster children. This is a lovely book that has come in very handy with more than one foster child.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2016
Brilliant brilliant book, it explains that social workers and other professional can often only answer 'maybe' to looked after children but helps children with their understanding of the reasons why.. would highly recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2015
It's along story but my foster son could relate to it and got the message. It helped! I even use the term now to describe the uncertainty that he is living through
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse