Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
21
4.3 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 September 2015
Great book! If you are going to design / build your own car - this book is i a must! I'm a Mechanical Engineer - and it taught me more than I care to admit! It's based on real world experience and the advice works.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
Excellent book. Very hard to put this down once you begin to read it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2017
Very good book,full of critical info.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
Everything that I wanted from this book and even slightly more!
Frankly, despite the fact that it is a bit outdated it has a very valuable knowledge not only for amateurs but also engineers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
Very simple writing easy for all to understand with easily understood diagrams. Very helpful book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2001
Unfortunately, I read Alan Staniforth's 'Competition Car Suspension' just before reading this and was not too impressed by the lack of depth of this work. Mainly aimed at the American market, it concentrates on large, heavy and relatively crude saloons and how to improve them. These methods are not necessarilly valid in the European market. It does, however, cover most suspension layout basics, the does and don'ts of spaceframe chasis design and basic aerodynamics. All in all a reasonable introduction to performance car dynamics.
11 Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2000
As it is an American publication, I expected this book to be greatly biased towards oval track racing but was pleasantly surprised to find this is not the case. Although some chapters are given over to the subject, it does not dominate the book and so, no matter what the form of racing, this book is useful.
Good explaination is given of the various forms of suspension and their respective advantages and disadvatages as well as methods of tuning them.
Some may find the book a little simplistic if similar books have already been read but I feel that the purpose of this publication is to provide an introduction to the subject. As such, it performs this task admirably.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2008
For those who are into buildind their own spaceframe racecar this is a must have book.Many chassis building techniques explained.All popular suspension systems also explained.A++
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 1999
A good book that has an excellent blend of the theory AND practice of the subject. I particularly liked the worked examples and the fact that it gave actual values to the concepts discussed. The diagrams and explanations are clear and easy to understand. The book is not too race oriented but also very applicable to those wanting to make their road cars handle better.
Two (small) criticisms: 1. Far too much space is given to the characterisrics and setting up of circle track cars ( left/right turn only ) which cannot be of general interest. 2. Pictures are included that do not add to the content in any way.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)