Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
10

on 6 September 2013
Although this booklet contains only 72 pages , written by someone who has an awesome grasp of the subject , expressed with such clarity of mind, .....a book to be savoured.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2013
Brueggemann at his best. Brilliant engagement with prayers of vengeance and the relevance, and necessity for today. 70 pages of great value.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2011
My College assignment is to write a psalm, and so this was particularly helpful in highlighting the characteristics of Hebrew poetry. I understand now what a tall order it is to write a psalm, but en route, I have found it personally liberating and enlightening. I am grateful to Brueggemann for his depth of psychological insight and now have a greater understanding of the difference between the language of the psalms and our own Anglican, not rocking-the-boat approach. I understand now why I am impatient with some of our conversation which leaves us untouched, because we neither own what we feel or dare to express it if we do. I am challenged still to write the psalm, and hope that my 'niceness' and desire for equilibrium will be overcome as I venture into the world of hyperbole and metaphor, rage, hatred, joy and vengeance. A rich world indeed. Thank you. I hope my prayers will change.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2013
A superb devotional resource which is inspirational. Brueggemann manages to bring new & fresh meanings to the text & relate it in a relevant and thought-provoking way.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2016
Enjoyed reading it as I do all of Brueggeman's work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 February 2016
Great for a Lent Course on the Psalms.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2015
Bruegemann are his best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2014
Good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 July 2016
wonderful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)