Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 17 August 2016
I wanted a book with clear instructions and guidance to build a lean to shed.

Whilst I think this book is ok, they drawings are more like sketches and difficult to read. It doesnt really give you tips and clear guidance sadly.

I flicked through it in an hour and probably wont go back to it now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2011
This is a really good book. Lots of ideas for shed designs, together with sound structural suggestions. The only thing that you should be aware is that this publication is Canadian in origin. For this reason the 'Backyard' in the title should not be taken to refer to your typical modest British backyard. However, with examples from small log stores to pavilions and boat sheds, there is inspiration here for almost any size of project.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 March 2015
Easy to read and precise
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2015
Great detail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2013
Excellent review of many U.S. shed styles and building formats. When dimensions are shown they are in imperial format. Much here to inspire the dedicated shed enthusiasts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2014
'Sheds' is a cracker of a book for anybody with any interest in constructing a timber structure in their garden. The range of projects is hugely impressive and the variety of photographs area brilliant aid to claity and understaning. I gave it 4 **** on the basis that there's always room for improvement..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2015
Returned it as it wasn't what I wanted.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 July 2010
Lots of ideas and good photos to set you thinking. Most of ideas are from north America.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2008
My shed looks nothing like any of the sheds in the book, because I let my whimsy roam. Well, okay, I pinched the method for better windows and doors. However, it was the book which inspired me to get on with it, rather than buy a new shed, and burn the old one in November. Recycling is good! I gave the book 5 stars, and I can't imagine how anyone can award a miserable 1 star. 'Sheds' is the kind of book you have handy, just to dip into for the fun of it. You do need a bit of imagination, and you need to remember timber is more expensive here than it is in the USA. Especially the timber we import from there! Someone moaned about hand-drawn sketches; I think the artwork is part of this book's charm. If you can't dream up a 'different' 'Den' or 'Man-Cave', using the tempting drawings in this book, then you must have a bit of the Philistine in you. Who wouldn't want a shed that uses a plasterers' wooden float for a door handle!
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2009
A truly wonderful book. Full of inspiring ideas and wonderful illustrations.Easy to follow instruction on how to tackle shed building. Beats the boots off the glossy, expensive alternatives. A definite 5 star rating.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)