Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
72
4.3 out of 5 stars
Planet Strike: Volume 2 (Extinction Wars)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 12 April 2017
I thought that the book had a steady storyline and was an interesting read, let's cary on with book 3
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
Super book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2015
A good read if sifi is your like.
All of Hepple rs books are worth reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
Quite good, worth reading the series if you like a bit of light sci fi.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2015
Abit light weight
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2016
Unfortunately, while there are a number of good ideas, the first two books in the series are not well plotted and not well written. The dialogue is stilted, and the characters awful. The main character ( the books are written form his viewpoint) is a boorish person, who is just plain weird, as well as being so much more clever than those surrounding. He can always out think the aliens even though he is a barely educated ex-soldier circa 1990s, ex-con and the Aliens have superb technology space travel, weapons, armour, computers, AI etc. .In fact he is just full of himself but seems to drop everything to chase some female interest called Jen , who appears and disappears at odd moments. There is also, for me, a weird xenophobic undercurrent - sure the aliens obviously do notexist but... I just get the impression he isn't writing about aliens when he slides in the "racialist" slurs against the Aliens. The aliens all seem to resemble earth animals, or insects. Particularly unpleasant are the references to Baboons, smelly stupid etc.... Amongst the many issues with the books, are lots ( nearly every other page) references to events in Earth history roughly prior to the 1990s. COmplete pages are wasted in writing endless "and did you know that...". Seems like a little bit of research into Wikipedia, mainly around World War Two, and for good measure a few paragraphs on the Spartans do it for the Author- pity the history is not more accurate, or better yet , left out entirely. It really does grate. Also the main character constantly switches into USA slang when talking to the Aliens( and on occasion even "talks" to the reader" ("My friend, you would ..."). But underneath it all , I have the distinct feeling that I have read some if not all of this before. There are a couple of other authors writing in the same area that look like a possible link. Who was first I do not know, but the similarities exist, including the stilted writing..Still he does kind of tell a good story, so if you are prepared to read a page and turn 20 or 30 to find the next bit, it is a workable 30 minute diversion. At the end of the day, I skimmed the books, just to find out where he was going. I do wonder if he could really get it all together if he had a good editor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2017
I like Vaughn Heppners books, plenty of pace, easy to read and this series is no exception. Two things that niggle, one, the main protagonist is always a loner and something special, which is fine, if a little bit predictable and two, please, please have a look in a grammar book for the verb to shine. the stars don't shined, they shine or shone, you don't shined a light ins omens eye, you shine or a light is shone. Drives me nuts! I do like the series and its good fun, but please amend the use of the word shine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
Another cracking instalment in the extinction wars, really picks up the pace and leaves plenty of room for further books. With any luck Vaughn will continue with this series. Well worth it and nothing negative about the book, apart from my lack of sleep while I devoured it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
Good story and characters with a whole new universe of baddies . Great stuff and lots more to come I'm sure.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
Great second book, easy reading, good perspective from a grunts view point.
Nice balance between ground and space based missions.
Would be great for a follow on , hopefully soon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here