Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
12
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 June 2014
Does the author really believe what he is writing? What is he afraid of? He seems to want to please everyone. Maybe he is trying to be subversive? What is he trying to subvert? He clearly loves his children and grandchildren. Can you really have love without any reference points? Does love, or beauty for that matter, really mean anything if your grasp on reality is as unstable as the author wants us to believe? To be as uncertain as he claims to be about everything leaves one suspicious that he is not quite as uncertain as he he wants us to think. For someone as uncertain about the Bible he seems to make a lot of assertions about life which can only come from it. Can love be that inconsistent? I am not asking for clarity and get the idea that many of the most cherished beliefs of Christians or Atheists are built on sand but somewhere the sand meets the sea and one can have a measure of confidence that on one side it is dry and on the other it is wet.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
I just bought this book and love it. Frank Scheaffer's deals with an inner contradiction many of us struggle with, a lack of religious 'faith' and a stubborn instinct to believe in God anyway.

Gently, through a real life view of his grandchildren children, the death of his mom, and an opera singer met on an airplane, Frank works through his own human dilemma with honesty, insight and humor. It mace for a great read. And allowed me to think things through without getting pushed away by cold intellectual argumentation
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2016
A very thoughtful and heartfelt work by a post-evangelical artist. Shaeffer's comments rang true when he states that he experiences both belief and disbelief at virtually tbe same time. This book is a welcome relief for those of us wearied by the vitriol of the more militant New Atheist writers. Overall a beautiful book grounded in Shaeffer's personal experience of faith transition and illuminated by moving vignettes of interaction with the people he loves, particularly his grandchildren, whom he so obviously adores.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
"Why I am an Atheist who believes in God" is written in a very dialogical, vulnerable, and honest fashion. Frank invites his readers on a journey through his experiences and thoughts. This book will take you on journey through Frank's experiences with his mother's death, his 'providential' encounters with strangers, and his reflections on his own life. It is in that context that Frank will raise 'an issue' or a topic. Schaeffer will invite you to see the world through his eyes, which may be challenging, but worth it; if not for any other reason but to empathize with a fellow human being who is processing life, faith, non-faith, out loud in this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
A self-indulgent book, but readable all the same. I don't see how you can actually be an atheist and still go to church and observe the sacraments as Schaeffer says he does; there must still be a "still small voice" telling him there is something in this. So Schaeffer doesn't quite persuade the reader as to why he still goes to church (albeit a very different one than he was brought up in).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
Like a former heavy smoker who becomes strident against tobacco, Frank rails against the beliefs of his parents. But first I should thank him for his generosity in allowing a free Kindle download for a couple of days and for what reads as a heart on the shoulder account of his presents beliefs. However I believe he is wrong to describe his parents as fundamentalist, a really pejorative term. His father preferred the name, Bible believing Christian. I also take exception the Frank slandering such believers as Bible worshipping Christians. Frank treats Scripture like someone in a pick and mix sweet store. He choses the bits that suit his now liberal and post-modernist perspective. He ask what is truth and concludes it does not consist of objective presuppositions. He is big on love and beauty and there is beauty n the way he depicts his family love. But why does he need to use four letter words in his narrative? I see he has rejected more than his father's doctrine of Scripture. He has left antithesis for what Francis would call an upper story experience of religion and in so doing he confirms his father's assertion that the non-believer cannot consistently follow his own chosen path of rejection of the truth. But on some things I am with Frank. He stridently rejects the atheists who claim certainty, also the non-representational in modern art and the atonality of modern music.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
Disarmingly honest - & 'Frank' account of high profile Evangelical and his journey out of the tradition he was raised in - and championed - and his determination to make sense of this world and hold on to truth, beauty and love.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
As a long-time reader of Francis Schaeffer's work, I found this insight into the private world of his family fascinating. Frank Schaeffer speaks on behalf of a generation who have parted company with their Evangelical roots, and as such offers us significant insight into the reasons why. If the book has a weakness, for me it is the overlap of theological / philosophical reflections with personal therapy. At tiems I couldn't tell if Schaeffer was airing his considered views or just venting his anger. It's legitiamte to do both, but I felt at times that he had lost sight of the distinction. A recommended read for all those wanting to better understand the current 'post-evangelical' movement.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2014
This is a powerful book. From a Christian background at times I even felt guilty reading it! But the sheet honesty of the author is I found very very helpful. Yes there should be two very's there. I read a lot and this is the book that left the greatest impression on me in 2014. I believe there is a God who loves us but I really wrestle and struggle to keep hold of that. It is helpful to come across other people who struggle and wrestle as well. Many thanks Frank for an honest book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
I have read several of Frank Schaeffer's non fictional works and I find the clarity of his writing style, his insight and humour and the humility that emanates from his narrative voice cuts through so much of the spiritual and religious 'red-tape' that it makes reading his work both an enlightenment and a joy. This book is no exception. I will be reading it again tooled up with a highlighter marker and some post-it notes to make it my own.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)