Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
12
3.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
4
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£2.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 October 2014
This is the most beautiful copy of the Sonnets from the Portuguese I've ever seen. It's bound in a gorgeous silk-like cloth with a burgundy, black and golden floral pattern. It comes with a golden slipcase.
The numbers of the poems at the top of the pages are decorated by Reynolds Stone.
Elizabeth Browning would be thrilled with this edition of her beautiful poems!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2011
As other reviewers have noted, the Kindle edition's typesetting is so bad that it makes the beautiful poems all but unreadable. A great shame, yes, this is free, but it's a shame whoever converted it apparently either knew nothing about poetry or didn't give a toss.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
EBB's beautiful sonnets are rendered meaningless because they are presented here as continuous prose without the line beaks.
How do I hate it?
Let me count the ways... !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
Great book. needed it for a module for my English undergraduate study. it fulfilled its purpose and it was an easy read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2010
Let's be clear about this - I am talking about the Kindle edition of this book. Like the other reviewer of this, I was delighted to find these sonnets at the (non)-price! BUT!!!! - I had just bought the "Christina Rossetti - Poems" which was a delight; She(CR)makes a complimentary reference to the Browning Sonnets which set me off looking for a copy. . . . I very happily downloaded this edition - for free! - but was utterly horrified to discover that there is no attempt at formatting throughout the volume. The Table of Contents was bad enough, but to be faced with sonnet after sonnet as solid paragraphs of text is just bizzare. Whoever set it up at least had the sense (or maybe accidental good fortune?) to retain the capital letters which should be at the start of every line, but this whole volume simply looks like an insult to Poetry.
11 Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2011
I agree with Tony1941 about the typesetting of the Kindle edition (which was my first Kindle download, got precisely in order to see how Kindle would handle classic poetry). These poems are serious works of literature, and deserve respect - and I'd expect Amazon to give it to them. To publish them without regard for formatting them into lines is simply an insult to both poet and reader. It makes no difference that it's free. Seriously unimpressive, Amazon!

Liz Barrett-Browning, 5 stars; Amazon/Kindle, 1 star, but only because the review system requires at least one star.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
very good speedy delivery accurate description very satisfied
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
Well produced but content dissapponting overall.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2012
This review solely concerns the physical book. You will have to decide whether or not you like the poetry inside.
This slim volume comes in an entirely gold slipcase and the book is covered in taffeta silk with a design of strawberries. It is absolutely stunning. For me, the poems are only average in quality. Pity this jewel does not encase some Donne or Hopkins!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
First class.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.41
£5.99
£18.01

Need customer service? Click here