Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 20 September 2014
This is another good volume in the series. I won't go into details of the plot, but it is another gripping adventure for Fronto and his friends and enemies! The author has a clear grasp of the characters involved, and they continue to develop as the series progresses.
My one gripe about this episode - and the reason for only four stars - is that, for me, there were too many new characters introduced in this story. This meant that you hardly had time to work out who was who, before they started dying - or becoming very important, and you therefore did not have enough invested in them to care. I know that this was part of the point, because Fronto had the same problem, but for me, it meant less engagement than normal.
However, still a good read, and I'm very much looking forward to the next instalment.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2017
Another great read. As you read, expect the unexpected and you won't be disappointed. I have enjoyed all of the series so far ad look forward to reading the next in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2017
Romps along nicely a winner for any historical novel readers.
Good story well told, a few old friends thrown into the mix never hurts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2017
Get all 10 to get full story from the start then you know what and why
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 February 2014
How I have enjoyed this latest adventure with Fronto. It really is a privilege to have come so far on his journey, I sincerely hope that Simon is currently in the process of creating MMVII - I cannot wait to read that too. In the meantime Prelude is waiting! Thank so much SJAT another great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2017
a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2017
Can't get enough of this series! If you've not read any of the marius' mules books go try them you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 July 2017
As always never fails to deliver a cracking great story with plenty of fact and fiction intertwined . now on to number vll ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2015
I thoroughly enjoyed the first five books in the series but perhaps I'm getting a little tired of Fronto now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2014
Another addition to what is an exciting and enjoyable series, the character's are constantly growing in what has been so far a series hard to put down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse